December 9 1 Timothy 5,6; Titus 1,2,3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Content? | Kim Chipman

S~ But godliness with contentment is great gain. 1 Timothy 6:6 (NIV)

O~ Matthew 6:33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.

Philippians 4:11-13 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

A~ This time of year is really all about stirring up discontent it seems. Thanksgiving is my absolute favorit holiday. (Easter is a close second!) I love the fall, the beautiful colors, change of season, sweatshirts and football. Thanksgiving is so sweet – just time to be content. To be thankful. To eat, drink and be together. Minimal expectations. I love it.

We *quickly* shift gears into hustle and bustle and STRESS. This year I’m trying to gocus more on people and relationships. Making memories with my kids. Planning ahead a bit to get some traditions in without stress. Living in the moment. Saying no sometimes. Letting stuff go. Intentionally focusing on what’s most important.

And being content.

Not getting swept away in more, bigter, better, faster, fancier.

Content. In my heart. Deep down soul anchoring content.

P~ Lord, help me to live in this joyful peaceful place! There is such tension with the world always trying to pull me away. Psalm 61:2 From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I. I love You!

Getting rich | Nikki Metzger

S~ People who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge men into ruin and destruction. 1 Timothy 6:9 (NIV)

O~ Wanting to get rich leads to: 1. temptation  2. trap  3.  foolish and harmful desires  4.  ruin and destruction

A~ Yesterday I saw the sign for how much powerball was up to.  It was over $100 million!  And I prayed that my mom would win it because I never buy tickets.  My mom never buys tickets either, but I still prayed that she would win it 🙂  My mom is super generous and would share her winnings with me and many others. I mean a little extra money would be super helpful.  But maybe not according to Paul.  I think I need to check my heart on this.  I have everything I could possibly need in this moment and season of life, the Word tells me so. (2 Peter 1:3)

My thinking of more money would be helpful isn’t true, in fact, it’s really dangerous.  When I want to get more money into my account, three things are guaranteed to happen: 1. I will fall into temptation.  2. I will fall into a trap. 3. I will have foolish and harmful desires that will lead me to ruin and destruction.

P~ Father, thank You for addressing my heart regarding money today.  Thank You for drawing me back fast!  You are awesome!

My Mom | Kelley Deases

S~ … a people that are his very own, eager to do what is good. Titus 2:14b (NIV)

O~ We all have choices laid before us every day, every hour, every minute. How will we spend our time? Whom will we serve? Beyond the “have to”s in life — go to work, get the kids to school, pack the lunches, make dinner, keep up on the house — am I reflecting a heart that is “eager to do what is good”? Am I thinking of others or demanding”me time”? Am I serving or asking to be served? Am I being the child of God He wants me to be?

A~ I see in my mother a woman who is eager to do what is good. She is devoted to serving others, meeting needs wherever she finds them. Just over the past couple days, she took her grandchildren out on their annual shopping trip for kids in need (and then treated them to dinner out); did her once a week volunteering at a lower-income public school assisting the teachers with copies and errands; purged her closets and found boxes and boxes of items to donate, and sorted them as to where they could do the most good; and is in the process of sewing forty Christmas stockings for patients in the hospital. This is all in addition to the extravagant gifts, meals, and festivities she has planned for her family whom she will host in her home over Christmas in a couple weeks! It’s a daunting act to follow, but she is an amazing model of generosity and self-sacrifice. I need only ask myself, when an opportunity presents itself, “What Would Linda Do?”

P~ Father, Thank You for the mom You blessed me with and how You have used her to be a blessing to countless others as well.

His Great Mercy | Trisha Baker

S~ He saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy. He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit. Titus 3:5 (NIV)

O~ There is nothing we as people could ever do that is good enough to make us worthy enough to deserve the free gift that Jesus gave us. It was only through His mercy and grace that we are able to accept this free gift. But He did not stop there, He also gave us the Holy Spirit to enable us to have His presence with us at all times.

A~ As I go about my life on a daily basis, I find myself at times glad that I am not “that” person. But then I am reminded by the Holy Spirit, that before Jesus I was “that” person. It is only through the mercy and grace of Jesus that I have come to be the person I am today.  Before Him, I was very unaware of the evil in my own heart and the ease at which I followed it, but with Jesus and the Holy Spirit, I am reminded on a daily basis that I am better only because of the love and mercy of Jesus.

P~ Heavenly Father, thank you so much for the gift of your mercy and grace you give to us on a daily basis. Holy Spirit please remind me on a daily basis that I have nothing to do with the person I am today. I am only the person I am because of His love and mercy. Without Jesus, I am a sinner headed straight to hell. Please help me every day to be an example to others of your love and grace so that they also would want to live a life consumed by you.

In your precious name, Amen.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 9, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

