December 2 Romans 9, 10, 11, 12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

So I Can See You | Kim Chipman

S~ What if he did this to make the riches of his glory known to the objects of his mercy, whom he prepared in advance for glory— Romans 9:23

O~ Romans 2:4 Or do you show contempt for the riches of his kindness, forbearanceand patience, not realizing that God’s kindness is intended to lead you to repentance?

John 11:42 I knew that you always hear me, but I said this for the benefit of the people standing here, that they may believe that you sent me.

John 9:3 “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the works of God might be displayed in him.

A~ The issue of pain and suffering is a difficult one to wrap my head around. I’ve watched people I love suffer incredible sickness and loss and they love You but they hurt. I t just doesn’t seem fair sometimes. It’s not fair, actually, but the purpose of my time here isn’t about fair or comfortable or easy.

“What if He did this to make the riches of His glory known to the objects of His mercy”

What if, WHAT IF, You orchestrate my circumstances just so I can see the riches of Your glory? So I can see You at work. To grow my faith deep. To drive the roots of my trust deep and strong. So I stand on the solid rock so that when the storms come I will not be destroyed.

What if?

P~ Lord I see You, I trust You, I believe, but help my unbelief! Whatever it takes (as scary as that is to pray!) grow my faith and trust. Reveal Yourself to me however You see fit so I can bask in Your glory and reflect it to many. I love You!

Blueprint for Life | Deanna George

S~ Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:12 (NIV)

O~ Once again, we are given directions for how to structure our life. We are to be joyful. We are to be patient when life gets hard. We are to pray regularly.

A~ It is not always easy to be joyful, patient, or willing to take our frustrations and anger to God, but God never promised easy. He promised to be with us, guide us, and even carry us when needed. I need to make it a habit to find something to rejoice about everyday. I need to be patient on God’s timing, and I need to include God in all things of my life through prayer.

P~ Lord Jesus, I humbly ask you to reveal your presence in my life. I desire to rejoice with you, hang out in your presence, and share my heart with you daily. Thank you for loving me, encouraging me to look for the good, and being there for me in the good, bad, and ugly. This is twice in one week that I have heard that I need to be joyful, faithful, and patient. I hear you Lord!

The way to happiness | Trisha Baker

S~ Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Romans 12:12 (NIV)

O~ God has laid out for us a map to live in true happiness. The definition of hope is to cherish a desire with anticipation. Knowing that there is something better is one of things that can bring us joy. When hard times come our way, we can know that in this affliction He is doing a work in us to bring a much better outcome than we could ever imagine. It is because of this, that we must continue to be patient and wait on Him daily in those times that there are things going on which do not make any sense to us. But the greatest thing that we know will always bring us to true happiness is staying faithful in our prayer life. Prayer is our way of maintaining an open communication line between us and God.

A~ On a daily basis, there are going to be things that cause us pain and make us wonder if things are ever going to be better. My husband lost his job two weeks ago, and right before this God began to speak to me about really trusting him with everything and knowing that my security only comes from him. So in the process of my husband losing his job, there of course was a loss of money and some would say a loss of security. This is definitely an affliction, but I am learning to be patient in this because my faith is being strengthened. I am joyful in the hope that God has greater things for me and my family. Things that we cannot even imagine, because He wants his glory to be shown in our lives and He wants to be given the glory for the great things that happen in our lives; but of course in the midst of all this, staying faithful in prayer allows me to keep my joy alive in His hope and to remain patient during this hard time. My husband has not found a new job yet, but I have seen God move in amazing ways in the last two weeks, and it is very possible that God has been able to show me things I would not have been able to see had we not been going through this situation.

P~ Heavenly Father, help me to always keep my eyes on you. Help me to always remember that You are always the source of my hope and my joy. Help me to remember that in the midst of a horrible situation, you are helping me to become more like you. Help me to always listen to your still small voice. It can be hard sometimes in the midst of the craziness of life to block everything out to listen to You but I know that spending time in prayer every day I will be able to do just this. Thanks you Jesus for coming to this earth and for being the perfect example of how we can live each day as unto the Lord. In your precious name, Amen.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on December 2, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Each one of those = just what I needed to be reminded of today! ❤️

Leave a Reply

