November 15 Job 41,42; 2 Corinthians 1,2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Not About Me | Robin Laney

S~ If we are afflicted, it is for your comfort and salvation; and if we are comforted, it is for your comfort, which you experience when you patiently endure the same sufferings that we suffer. 2 Corinthians 1:6 (ESV)

O~ Paul and his fellow missionaries had suffered greatly for the cause of Christ. They had received much comfort and peace from God in their trials. They recognized that God used their sufferings for the good of others. They suffered and God comforted them. They, in turn, could comfort others who suffered. With God’s help, they endured great affliction so that they could then encourage others who suffered.

A~ How often do I think my sufferings are about me? I ask questions like, “Why me? Why now? Why this? Is there something I need to learn? Did I do something wrong? Am I being tested?”

We have been reading through Job for a while now and I think my biggest take away from his story is that, as humans, we really have no idea the mind of God. We do not always know His purposes or His ways and to seek to understand them fully is foolishness. He is good. He is God.

What if my sufferings aren’t about me at all but are to glorify God? My suffering drives me into God’s arms, He comforts me, and I pass that comfort onto others who suffer. I can have empathy for others who suffer in the same ways I have. They gain confidence in God as they see His power in my life. If true, and it seems it is, that means that I have a great responsibility to go directly to God for comfort and peace and also to praise Him in the middle of the mess. As people see God’s power in my life, their faith in Him will be strengthened and they will see their afflictions as an opportunity to glorify God, drawing others to Him.

P~ Thank You, Father, for reminding me that my life is not about me. It’s all about You! Let me not get caught up in trying to figure out the reasons for my troubles but instead know that You work all things out for my good for Your glory and for the comfort and salvation of others. Father, I pray that when I tend to look in at me You would point my attentions up to You and out to those around me for the sake or their salvation.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 15, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

