November 14 Psalms 149; 1 Corinthians 15,16

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

A New Song | Michelle Myers

S~ Praise the LORD.  Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise in the assembly of the saints. Psalm 149:1 (NIV)

O~ Here, I am told to praises the LORD.  I am told to sing a new song.  It reminds me of the saying, “It is the same old song and dance.”

You have often reminded me, if I am truly going to praise You with my life, I have to do different.  If I don’t, I will only end up with the same results, and the destruction and frustration, that those results bring about.

A~ At first, different isn’t easy nor is it a smooth process.  Yet, little by little, if I listen to You and obey You, it gets easier and goes more smoothly.  The simple choice to obey You, do different, and endure the hard with a good heart and the right attitude, are some of the most meaningful ways in which I can praise You.

P~ Thank you God for giving me the strength to endure the hard and do different.  Please just continue to help me, because I am sure that praising You this way, will be a life long process.  There will always be “something” different that needs to be done. Please help me hear your voice, in regards to the “different” You want from me; versus the “different” people want from me.

He delights in me! | Nikki Metzger

S~ For the Lord takes delight in His people; He crowns the humble with salvation. Psalm 149:4 (NIV)

O/A~ When I delight in my kids, it brings me such joy, laughter, smiles, and fun.  Are my kids perfect? Heck no!  Do I expect them to be perfect?  No, they are works in progress.

I delight in my kids and it’s such a treasured time.  I’m thinking that the Lord delights in me, just like I delight in my kids.  This just really changes my perspective of God and His thoughts of me.  He delights in me.  That changes things for me.  Changes how I live my life, how I love the people around me.  God isn’t mad at me, He delights in me.

P~ Ahhhhhhh!  Thank You!!

Choose You | Kim Chipman

S~ So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and immovable. Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless. 1 Corinthians 15:58 (NIV)

O~ In this chapter Paul is talking about sin and death; victory and resurrection; this life is not the end of the story. When this life is done death will NOT have victory or sting. Through Jesus we are victorious. The conclusion to this Truth is that we should be strong and immovable.

A~ It’s much easier to be strong when lifes’ circumstances are crummy when I remember that in You I am already victorious. The war has already been won. Your promises are true and You are victorious over all. When I truly live like your promises are true and park my thoughts there then being strong isn’t really being strong after all it is just tapping into YOUR strength. I can *choose* Your Truth. I can *choose* not to buy into any lie that tells me any differently. Your grace is enough, Your Truth is enough. YOU are enough. And IN YOU *I* am enough!

The previous verse says ‘the law gives sin its power’. Performance based identity gives sin its power. I want YOUR power flowing through me and I need to choose that. My identity in You is not based on my performance.

When I *choose* to do this my heart is free to serve you joyfully – not striving to do more, be more, achieve more…but to serve You from a pure and free heart, no longer in bondage to the law. One lie I know I buy into is that I need to do big things, or at least more and better things, to earn Your approval. This Truth reminds me that NOTHING I do for you is EVER useless, no matter how small it is. Every selfless act, each and every moment I choose you in my heart, each thought I redirect and fix on you…You see it all and it is NOT useless.

P~ Thank you for Your Word. Thank You for reminding me that the law – performance based justification – gives sin its power. In You I can be strong and immovable and *nothing* I do for you is useless. Nothing. You can use every morsel. I love You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 14, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

