November 11 Psalms 122; 1 Corinthians 9,10,11

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Where It Starts | Michelle Myers

S~ Pray for the peace of Jerusalem: ‘May those who love you be secure. May there be peace within your walls and security within your citadels.’ Psalm 122:6-7 (NIV)

O~ According to Dictionary.com, a citadel is:

–a fortress that commands a city and is used in the control of the inhabitants and in defense during attack or siege.

–a fortified place; stronghold.

–a heavily armored structure on a warship, for protecting the engines, magazines, etc.

A~ Of course I would like peace and security for the world, for our country, and even for my own little community.  However, my greatest impact is on the peace and security within the walls of my own home.

My husband and I are the citadel in our home.  We are in command and in control of the inhabitants.  Even our cats depend on us.

We may not be always be under physical attack, but the spiritual attacks never stop.  We have to be the heavily armored structure, that protects our own spiritual wellness, our marriage, our family as a unit, and the attacks that come against our children as individuals.

P~ Thank you God for Your clarity on how important it is to protect the peace and security in my own home.  Help me remember this, when I am tired, frustrated, busy, or even preoccupied with less important issues.  My kids need to see me actively doing spiritual battle for myself, my marriage, our family unit, and the atmosphere of our home.

Where You Have Me | Kelley Deases

S~  Nevertheless, each one should retain the place in life that the Lord assigned to him and to which God has called him. 1 Corinthians 7:17 (NIV)

O~  Paul seems to be saying in this and several of the surrounding verses in this chapter that while coming to a saving faith in Jesus Christ drastically changes our spiritual position, it may not change our station in life. Therefore, Paul urges us to be the person God is calling us to be right where we find ourselves.

A~  My husband and I like to imagine the possibilities which lie before us after he is eligible to retire with full benefits from his position and we get our second son raised and out of the house. Full-time ministry for one or both of us? Short-term mission trips? Longer term? Where will we live and which group of God’s people might we serve? It’s fun to think about. But at the same time we are very much holding our futures with open hands so we might follow where God leads. And, in the meantime, we are here — in this house, in this neighborhood, in these jobs, in these circles of friends. We are called to be content in this place and serve God as best we are able in the here and now.

P~  Father, Thank You for this encouragement to embrace what I have and where You have me. Stoke in me the same passion for my present as I have for my future.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 11, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

