November 10 Job 35,36; 1 Corinthians 7,8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Evil or Suffering? | Kim Chipman

S~ Beware of turning to evil, which you seem to prefer to affliction. Job 36:21 (NIV)

O~ Elihu is talking to Job. Thing is, I’m pretty sure these very words (sorta) came out in conversation this morning over coffee. One of my dearest friends and I, we are both in a place that we want our fire stoked. We’re feeling, lukewarm, complacent, afraid, and (honestly) kind of lazy. Like there are some things to be done in our lives and it’s just way too muchhard work to do them. Ridiculous (but brutally honest). When You ask me to do something and I don’t do it that’s sin. This verse describes where we are perfectly. We prefer sin to suffering. Ugh and ouch. This is good warning, though – beware of turning to evil which you seem to prefer to affliction. Beware.

A~ The great thing about my iron sharpening friend is we made a plan to turn out Titanic hearts. I love You. I want to be on fire for You. I want to choose the Spirit over my flesh. I can start right now.

2 Timothy 1:6-7 For this reason I remind you to fan into flame the gift of God, which is in you through the laying on of my hands. For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.

I can choose each moment to live in the Spirit (power, love, self-discipline) or the flesh (complacent, afraid, lazy)

Choose this day whom you will serve, Kim…

P~ Lord, help me to walk in the Spirit today, right now this moment. Help me to fan into flame the gift of God. Help me to beware of turning to evil (sin), which I seem to prefer to affliction. Help me to live truly sold out, unhindered, for You. Nothing holding me back. Free…for Your glory. I love You!

Is suffering a gift? | Nikki Metzger

S~ Be on guard! Turn back from evil, for God sent this suffering to keep you from a life of evil. Job 36:21 (NLT)

O~ Elihu, a wise young man, is speaking to Job.  What did Elihu just say?  This horrible suffering is to help Job from a life of evil.

A~ Did God know if Job stayed on his life path, he would eventually have a life of evil?  Well, we see it over and over in the life of the Israelite kings.  They eventually thought their kingdom was theirs and they earned it.

But this suffering of Job: losing children, his job, his business, his physical health, revelation that his friends were not really friends.  It’s so much suffering!  According to Elihu, the suffering is to keep Job from a  life of evil.

Are my sufferings and challenges and daily annoyances a gift from God to keep me from a life of evil?  And maybe a life of evil doesn’t start one day.  Maybe a life of evil starts in my heart and thoughts?  I start thinking: I am good, I got this, look what I’ve accomplished, I deserve this, those people don’t deserve that…..It’s a slippery slope, that pride!

P~ Father, thank You for Job!  and Your Word!  I have a couple things in my heart that I think I deserve.  Search my heart and point out these offenses in me!  It’s pride, I know it!  Remove my pride and replace it with more trust in You!

Humbly Knowledgeable | Michelle Myers

S~ Knowledge puffs up; but love builds up. 1 Corinthians 8:1 (NIV)

O/A~ I need to remember this when I am dealing with people in my relationships.  I need to approach people with love.  I may have knowledge or experience, in regards to something. Yet, how I convey it, makes all the difference in how it will impact the other person and the situation.

P~ I am so thankful for Your character, and the example it provides for me. Please help me remember, especially when it comes to my children, that I need to humble myself.  I need to convey the knowledge and experiences I have, in a loving manner.  I even have to humble myself when they don’t listen, and are facing the consequences, and still approach them in a loving manner.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 10, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

