November 5 Job 28,29; Galatians 1,2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Big Picture | Robin Laney

S~ God understands the way to it, and he knows its place. For he looks to the ends of the earth and sees everything under the heavens. Job 28:23-24 (ESV)

O~ Twenty-eight chapters of working through grief. Job has been through the wringer. He has lost everything; his 10 children, his wealth, his health, and the support and respect of his wife, his friends, the sons of his friends, and others. To this point, he has gone through stages; initially submitting to God in his loss and then getting his beliefs about God all twisted as he tries to reason through this horrific situation. He wavers back and forth between faith in God’s character and questioning His ways. In this chapter, Job is considering wisdom and its origin.

A~ In the midst of deep grief and impossible circumstances we, as humans, tend to want to know the whys and hows and whens. We want to know why we are suffering, how it will be resolved, and when we will experience relief. I know that I, in my finite wisdom, try to figure it all out sometimes. I try to guess what God might be up to and what the outcome might be but I have no clue.

I love this picture of God’s wisdom that Job paints in my mind, this vision of Him; who sees everything past, present, and future, who has intimate knowledge of every heart, every situation, and every plan; who has a divine purpose in mind, and who works all things out for the good of those who love Him. My mind cannot comprehend His omniscience or the astounding love He has for all of us proven in His close attentions to every detail.

Like Job, I can get so focused on me and my circumstances that I can’t even treat the people around me right or complete necessary tasks. Blinded by pain or worry or sadness, I can’t see the forest for the trees. Trying to survive my own mess, I struggle to see what good might come from it or how God could possibly use it for anyone’s benefit. My perspective can be so narrow that it’s impossible to learn or grow in the midst of the trouble.

This verse is a great reminder that He has a God’s-eye view of it all. He sees how all of my mess works together with the messes of others and how my testimonies will affect those He sets in my path and the ripple effects that result. Like a mechanic studying the workings of an intricate machine, he sees how one movement, one action, one word affects all others through to the end of time. I may not be able to understand all of the happenings in my life but I can trust that He does. Remembering who He is and the richness of His character, keeping clear in my mind His goodness and love, and being confident in His heart and divine plan for salvation, should give me some peace even in the most difficult circumstances. When the hurt is unbearable and the future seems uncertain, might I remember Job and his confidence in God as the one, true source of wisdom.

P~ Lord, You are all-wise, all-knowing, all powerful. You, alone, know all of the workings of mankind. You know Your plans and Your will for us. You know what You do and why. You see the whole order of and reasons for all happenings here on earth. You are loving, trustworthy, and faithful. I trust you in my life because I know you see the big picture.

Wind | Nikki Metzger

S~ He decided how hard the winds should blow and how much rain should fall. Job 28:25 (NLT)

O~ Someone just told me about Biosphere 2, a dome built somewhere in the desert that had every kind of terrain, environment, ecosystem, etc. except wind.  The trees in Biosphere 2 did not fare well because of the lack of wind.  Trees grow stronger when they have to work harder against the wind.

A/P~ Father, I lift my hands to You in prayer for the kids!  Blowing winds and falling rains, like challenges and disappointments in life cause us to grow and bend in ways that could never happen without the challenges and disappointments.  As we are possibly facing a big decision with our kids, lead us in wisdom!  Lord, which path grows our kids closer to You?  In Jesus’ Name I pray!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 5, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

