November 2 Job 23,24; Mark 11,12

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you!

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My complaint | Nikki Metzger

S~ My complaint today is still a bitter one, and I try hard not to groan aloud. Job 23:2 (NLT)

O~ Job and his friends are talking here.

A~ I have a complaint today.  And I’m fighting bitterness.  And I really don’t want to talk about it.  Job starts this part of the conversation with his friends in an exact way that I’m feeling.

My complaint to the Lord is that one of my children is suffering today.  Came home confused and crying.  Nothing can change what happened.  But today, I’m just wishing that my 12 year old didn’t have to embrace suffering.

I’m ok with me embracing suffering because I recognize that is how the Lord purifies me and makes me more like Him.  But my kids?  This is tough for a mama’s heart.

Am I trusting that His ways are higher than my ways for my child?  Am I leaning on my own understanding in this situation?  Does the Lord have a plan and a hope for my child?

P~ Father, my head knows that You use suffering for Your good and glory, and collect every tear my son sheds.  But my heart feels like it’s ready to explode.  My heart aches for my kiddo – please don’t let this suffering be wasted!  Grow in him a heart that learns from this.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Where Is This Fear Coming From? | Michelle Myers

S~ The chief priests and the teachers of the law heard this and began looking for a way to kill him, for they feared him, because the whole crowd was amazed at his teaching.  Mark 12:18 (NIV)

O~ This is just after Jesus overturned the tables in the temple, because they were conducting business there.  Obviously, their fear, the fear that made them want to kill, was motivated by greed, selfishness, and arrogance.

A~ When I start to fear other people, what they can do to me, or even how other people admire or don’t admire them (depending on where I am in regards to my feelings about them); I have to examine why I am fearing these things.

Where is this fear coming from?  Is any of it valid, not so much the “fear” part, but could You be trying to tell me something in regards to a situation?  Are you trying to tell me there is something I need to deal with?  Is there something or someone in my life that You are trying to warn me about?

Much of the time, it is irrational fear, where the enemy has placed doom and gloom thoughts into my head.  Sometimes, it is me not recognizing who You are and who people are.  People may not like me (for no reason at all), but You love me.  I have to examine myself.  Have I done something, that would make a person justifiably not like me?Usually, the answer is, “No”. I am not perfect at it, but I really try to be loving, kind, respectful, and sympathetic to those around me. When You tell me that I have messed up, I acknowledge it.  What they do from there on out, is on them.

Then, there are times, that I really have to deal with an issue and You bringing it to my attention through my feelings of anxiety, is Your way of trying to warn and protect me.  I have to listen.  I have to act.  If I don’t, the consequences are on me.

Regardless of the reason behind any of these fears, I have to stay connected to You.  If I don’t,  the anxiety and fear can easily take on a life of its own, and in many cases, that is what the enemy wants.  If he can get me wrapped up in irrational anxiety or people’s irrational opinions about me or a situation, I am not able to do Your work.

P~ God, I am so thankful for Your wisdom.  It helps keep me grounded, rational,  and moving forward.  Our downstairs neighbors moved out.  I pray that they have a smooth transition.  I pray that they are able to find You, Your peace, and Your love.

 

 

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 2, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

