November 1 Psalms 121; Mark 9,10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

HELP! | Kim Chipman

S~ I lift up my eyes to the mountains—where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth. Psalm 121:1-2 (NIV)

O~ Oh, the Psalms. When I’m a big emotional mess (like NOW) they are the place to be. Every emotion is in the Psalms.

A~ Today did not start well. At this moment I feel like I am completely failing at parenting and life. My brain know this is not true, but it is what my feelings are saying.

Feelings lie sometimes. And sometimes they don’t.

Where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth.

There is really nothing new under the sun. I’m sure I’m not the first – nor the last – Mom who has struggled to parent, wife who has struggled as a partner, or person who feels overwhelmed and like a failure. Rather than wallow in my feelings, however, today I will choose to focus on YOU instead of my feelings. You created me and have a plan for me. You made me just how I am for a reason. You are sovereign. You are love.

P~ Help me to show love well. Help me to know when to speak and when to be silent. Use me today. Help me life to honor and glorify You!

The One and Only Greatest | Michelle Myers

S~ But they kept quiet because on the way they had argued about who was the greatest.  Sitting down, Jesus called the Twelve and said, ‘If anyone wants to be first, he must be the very last, and the servant of all.’ Mark 9:34-35 (NIV)

O~ I get the impression that the Twelve disciples kept quiet, when Jesus asked what they were talking about, because they knew how childish and silly it was for grown adults to be arguing over that.  Also, by this time, they probably had a sense that this guy they were following was a little “different” and didn’t respond to criticism, confrontation, and turmoil; the way most did.  Instead of just coming out and telling them how childish and silly they were being, he is patient, calm, and explains to them, “to be first, you must be last.”

A~ Only one more week, of this nasty election.  There is a lot I can learn, in regards to how to do things, from Your way of “campaigning”.  There is a lot I can learn, in regards to how NOT to do things, from the way politicians campaign.

P~ I am so thankful God, that YOU are the greatest!  I am so thankful God, for YOUR character and that YOU have my best interest in mind.  I pray that we can have some unity, peace, and respect for one another; regardless of what happens with the election.

 

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on November 1, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

