October 31 Job 22; Mark 7,8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Fully God/Fully Man | Nikki Metzger

S ~ Then Jesus left Galilee and went north to the region of Tyre.  He didn’t want anyone to know which house He was staying in, but He couldn’t keep it a secret.  Mark 7:24 (NLT)

O~ When I first read this, I thought, Jesus couldn’t keep it a secret?  He is God, of course He could keep it a secret.  The NKJV reads this way: He entered a house and wanted no one to know it, but He could not be hidden.

A~ Jesus is so fully man and so fully God in this verse!  He wanted some time away from the public ministry.  He left the area, went to a place where Gentiles (non Jews) lived, probably hoping no one would know who He was.  Jesus, fully man, wanted rest.  He didn’t want anyone to know where He was at.

Jesus, fully God, could not be hidden from the people He came to save though.  An outsider, a woman needed Him.  Jesus is always there to rescue us.

Jesus has walked in my shoes.  He knows my temptations and has faced them.  He understands why somedays I want to hide out at home with phones off, because He has faced this too.  This is so comforting today.  He gets why I want to stay at home, wrapped in a snuggly blanket and nurse my hurt feelings because someone said something very disrespectfully to me.

P~ Jesus – You are my friend too besides my Savior, my King, my Comfort, my Peace.

Jesus’s Personal Touch | Joni Tyner

S~ Then Jesus placed his hands on the man’s eyes again, and his eyes were opened. His sight was completely restored, and he could see everything clearly. Mark 8:25 (NLT)

O~ There is a blind man in the town of Bethsaida and his friends bring him to Jesus to be healed.  Jesus spits on his eyes (8:23) and asks him if he can see.  He responds that he can, but not very clearly.  Then, in verse 25, Jesus touches the man’s eyes and this time his sight was completely restored.

A~ Jesus is God!!… He chooses when and how to answer prayer.  In this scripture, He healed the blind man in a 2 step process.  Other times, He simply says the word, and a person is healed.    Jesus will answer and respond to my prayers in a way that is ultimately the best for me—He knows better than I do—I just need to trust Him.

P~ Dear Lord,  I’m sorry there have been SO MANY times I’ve basically told you how to take care of the messes in my life. Please help me trust You for all of my life’s details .

Wow, Just Wow! | Michelle Myers

S~ Once more Jesus put his hands on the man’s eyes.  Then his eyes were opened, his sight was restored, and he saw everything clearly. Mark 8:25 (NIV)

O~ Prior to this, Jesus had spit on the man’s eyes and put His hands on him.  He then asks him, “Do you see anything?”  The blind man replied, “I see people; they look like trees walking around.”  It was on Jesus’ second attempt that his sight was clearly restored.

I questioned why You didn’t just make it happen on the first attempt. You could have, and did with some of the miracles that Jesus performed. Then, You reminded me that some miracles in life are a process, and require patience and determination.

Jesus didn’t just throw His hands in the air after the first attempt and say, “That’s it!  I am done.  It is pointless!”  Neither did the blind man, after the first attempt.  He had to be a willing participant, when the people brought him to Jesus and begged Him to make him see.

A~ Last night, I got a reminder of how far my husband has come in his addiction, and how far our marriage has come, since even before his disclosure of everything, 7 years ago, this month.  Friends of ours, who deal with the same issue, came over after a difficult evening.

Addiction messes with one’s sight in so many ways.  It isn’t logical. The addict will manipulate and skate around issues and behaviors, in an attempt to ignore logic and be able to still mess around with whatever they are addicted to.  They aren’t capable of seeing the “code red” signs flashing in front of them.

Yet, with a truly willing participant, God can do anything.  It isn’t a quick, easy, painless straight path; but there is hope.  There is hope for the addict, the marriage, and the entire family unit.

As I went to pick up my daughter from school, I saw signs posted on street light poles that read, “We buy houses, any condition.”  I thought, “Wow!  Isn’t that how God takes us, our marriages, and our families? Didn’t Jesus pay the price for us, regardless of our condition?”  We just have to be truly willing, patient, and determined participants.

P~ Thank you God for the healing that You have provided for me, my husband, my marriage, and our girls.  Had You, Yourself, told me that we would be here seven years later, I would have laughed, probably told You that You were crazy, and continued to cry in a state of despair. Yet, You did it for us, and we are no more special or deserving than anyone else.  I am so thankful for Jesus’ sacrifice, in spite of the messes we all are and we all make.  The spiritual homes have all been bought and paid for.  Now, please open people’s eyes, so they can start working with You to clean up, repair, and remodel their spiritual houses. They, just like many of the other witnesses of Jesus’ miracles, will be amazed, if they do.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 31, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. i can relate, Nikki!

  2. Nikki – You spoke right to me today. 🙂 Thanks!

Leave a Reply

