October 30 Job 21; Mark 5,6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Mock On | Michelle Myers

S~ ‘So how can you console me with your nonsense?  Nothing is left of your answers but falsehood! Job 21:34 (NIV)

O~ You go Job!  Tell them how it is, and stand in God’s truth.

A~ You have shown me, that I am better off just being with You for a period of time, if all I have are people who try to console me with nonsense and falsehood.  Eventually, You will bring the right people into my life.

Also, it is so important during these times that I cling to You and my relationship to You, because people who don’t live my life will try and tell me what my life is like, what I am like, and where I mess up.  They really don’t know me, and don’t really care to know me; but they have ALL the answers for me.  This just creates more of a mental mess!  Yet, You know me, and will eventually show me who I truly am, what I truly need to work on, and where I truly messed up.

This is also something that You have prompted me to work on with my teenage daughters.  Sometimes it has been hard for them to find loyal, trustworthy friends.  I confirm for them, that their parents will always be here for them and love them.  Yet, when it comes to friends, people’s opinions, and advice; it is sometimes better to back off and let God show them the truths of who they are, what He wants for them, and where they need to make changes.  Eventually, He will bring the right people into their lives.

P~ Thank you God for this hard, painful lesson.  It has taken me many years to learn.  Yet, it has provided me with much clarity and peace, in regards to dealing with people and teaching my daughters how to deal with people.  Thank you for letting me know that people can, in the words of Job, “Mock on” (Job 21:3), but I don’t have to stick around to hear it.  I have a choice in letting their words penetrate and take root in my mind and my heart.

God Talk | Kelley Deases

S~ Go home to your family and tell them how much the Lord has done for you, and how he has had mercy on you. Mark 5:19 (NIV)

O~  I am blessed to have not one but several circles of friends who are believers, with whom I can share testimonies, encouragement, and prayer requests. These days, I even experience that fellowship at my workplace. It is so great to be able to speak of the things of God with coworkers who also love Jesus. But am I speaking on the name of Jesus as much at home as I am with my Christian friends? Is my husband hearing more about our bank account balance, the upcoming family schedule for the week, what’s for dinner and what’s on his “honey do” list than what God taught me as I sat with Him this morning? (Answer: yes.) Is my son hearing more of a nagging drone in his ear as I prod him to the next thing and the next thing, than sitting together and telling him stories of how God has been at work over the course of my life? (Also yes.)

A~ Yesterday was a pretty good day. Well, after a rough start. I got angry and yelled at my little boy about a small oversight, so I quickly apologized and told him my “penance” would be to give him three compliments to make up for my yelling. He just beamed as I spoke over him how his dad and I are so proud of his attitude and behavior in three specific areas. And when I was done, he added another on his own. (“Don’t forget to mention, Mom, I’m also super creative.”) That was probably the bright spot in my day, turning around the sour feelings and replacing them with a blessing. Later that evening, we went over his homework for Bible, which focused on character traits God wants us to display. It was a perfect way to solidify our lesson from that morning!

P~ God, Help me to be more intentional to infuse more prayer, more testimonies, more teaching moments, more You, into our everyday life. After all, there is nothing more important I can talk about.

Repentance | Kim Chipman

S~ They went out and preached that people should repent. Mark 6:12 (NIV)

O~ Jesus is sending out the 12 disciples to preach and teach.

A~ It strikes me that *repentance* is the main difference between just believing who You are – like even Satan does that! – and submitting to make You Lord of my life. To follow hard after You. In repentance I remember my brokenness, my sinfulness, my need. Repentance keeps me humble. It keeps me introspective enough that I don’t have the energy or heart posture to be critical of judgemental of others. I give lots of grace when I’m in a place of repentance because I remember how much grace has been poured all over me.

This is very different from shame or condemnation. Shame is paralyzing. It makes me want to hide and pulls me away from You. Repentance leads me back to You. It draws me near You and helps my heart to see others the way You see them.

P~ Lord, help me to continually examine my own heart and maintain a posture of repentance. Help me to recognize the red flags in my thought life of criticism and judgement – and leave others to You. I have enough to worry about in my own heart. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 30, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

