October 29 Job 20; Mark 3,4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Help People, Help Hurting People | Michelle Myers

S~ My troubled thoughts prompt me to answer because I am greatly disturbed.  I hear a rebuke that dishonors me, and my understanding inspires me to reply. Job 20:2-3 (NIV)

O~ A “friend” of Jobs, Zophar the Naamathite, is responding to Job.  Job is the one under attack by the enemy.  He is the one hurting.  Yet, Zophar is having troubled thoughts, is greatly disturbed, has been rebuked, and dishonored.  All of this makes it necessary for him to respond to Job and set it all “straight”.  The lack of compassion and wisdom from Job’s friends makes me sad.

A~ Job is going through some difficult things that defy logic.  His friends try to make it logical, by pointing out what Job must have done wrong to bring this upon himself.  His friends try and tell him what he should do, to get right with God.  Seeing Job suffer the way he is, has to be hard and uncomfortable.

Many times, that uncomfortable feeling only assists the enemy in how we relate to people.  Sometimes, we don’t want to hear about it, and would rather avoid the hard stuff all together.  Sometimes, we want to blame someone, and tell them how to do it right. Sometimes, we just turn our backs on them.  None of this, is how You want us to handle hurting people.

There are many issues that bring these responses out in people, but I am going to stick with the one I know best, and that is sex addiction.  It is hard.  It is ugly.  It is destructive.  And, I am saddened by how many people claim to follow You, but once they have a friend or even just another believer struggling to deal with it themselves, or with their spouse; how they get it so wrong in comforting and supporting the hurting person.  Instead, they become troubled by the thoughts of it. They become disturbed.  This inspires them to reply in a not so loving and helpful manner.

I have been there.  It is hard and hurtful.  I have a friend, who recently went through this same thing, with a group of other Christian women, while she was struggling with some of the ramifications of her husband’s sex addiction.  It just adds salt to a wound.  It makes it about the “friend”, who is supposed to be supporting and not the person hurting.  You didn’t make it about You, when You came across uncomfortable, hard situations.

P~ Thank you God for Your unconditional, perfect love.  Please help all of us, including me, when it comes to being a loving support system to other people that are hurting.  Please help us, recognize that it isn’t about us, and our comfort in that moment.  Please help us be able to have open, honest, and helpful dialogue about the hard issues.  By not doing so, they fester, get bigger, become more destructive, and really only end up helping the enemy.

Family | Nikki Metzger

S~ When His family heard what was happening, they tried to take Him away.  “He’s out of His mind,” they said. Mark 3:21 (NLT)

O~ The crowds are gathering around Jesus, AGAIN.  He and the disciples were so busy addressing the people’s needs, they forgot to eat.  (What?!  This is something I don’t understand 🙂  Jesus’ family tried to get Him away to feed Him, this is their response.

A~ Can you imagine being Jesus’ baby brother?  Your mom probably hung on His every word and He never got in trouble!  Come to think of it, Jesus probably never did anything to get in trouble.  (He didn’t.)  That must have been SOOOOO annoying to Jesus’ brothers.  But the brothers loved their mama, Mary, so they would do as she asked when she wanted to know if Jesus ate.  And to top off the brother’s irritation of Jesus, all these people, all over the area start coming and following your older brother.  I wonder if they felt this way, I wonder if they felt like the brother’s of Joseph?

Fed up with their ordinary, annoying, older brother Jesus, they said, “He’s out of His mind.”  I don’t dare think for one second it was Mary who spoke those words.  In reality, Jesus was in His right mind, His view of the world was perfect and true.

I appreciate this very normal comment from Jesus’ family.  It is something that would be said in my family.  We aren’t perfect.  We disagree, we argue, we say things we don’t mean.  I’m betting that happened in Jesus’ family too.

P~ Lord Jesus, You know what siblings are all about, don’t You?  You were in a family, just like I’m in a  family.  Thank You for letting me see the imperfect side of Your family – heaven knows about our imperfections!  Thank You for making my family and the community of family.  I am so grateful for my family and all that goes along with it!

Give Us Eyes to See | Robin Laney

S~ They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!” Mark 4:41 (NIV)

O~ Shortly before this storm came up, Jesus had given the 12 the parable of the growing seed. He told of how a man scatters seed on the ground and, though the man doesn’t understand how it happens, the soil produces grain. Slowly and in stages, the seed grows to harvestable grain. Our faith is like that. The Gospel is sown into the world and the seed (the Word) is set in the hearts of men. Though we don’t understand how, the Holy Spirit changes those hearts and grows faith in them all on His own to the point of producing fruit, honoring God with their lives. Then, just like a farmer at harvest time, He gathers them all in to Himself.

In this verse, we see the apostles learning something new about Jesus and experiencing His power in a way that adds to their faith. As the storm was quieted, their faith in Him grew.

A~ As I read God’s Word and as I pray, I get to know Him more and more and my faith grows and develops but there is not a better fertilizer than personally experiencing His power and grace. Seeing Him at work in my life and the lives of those around me sends my stabilizing roots deeper and makes me more fruitful as my faith matures through knowing Him more intimately.

Just this week, I was so incredibly blessed to be in a courtroom and witness the adoption of three precious children. Their parents, right beside them, anxiously awaiting the moment when they would become a family in the eyes of the law. A moment that was the summit of a strenuous mountain climb, years high. A climb filled with prayers, hopes, dreams, disappointments, delays, struggles, tears, laughter, joy, uncertainty, faith, doubt, perseverance and, most of all, love. And over and throughout the whole story of their lives and the lives of their children was God, orchestrating His plan to bring them all to this moment at just the right time and at just the right place. Amazing Grace! Just like the other adoption stories I have watched unfold, this one is a faith builder and grower that will produce fruit in my life and the lives of others. Seeing Him move gives me hope for our own adoption story that is still developing. I think I grew a foot taller this week!

P~ Lord Jesus, thank You that You are not an invisible God. Thank You that You show Yourself in so many ways as You move in our lives. Let us have eyes to see and ears to hear so that we don’t miss a moment of You. Continue to grow us, make us fruitful, and ready us for the harvest when we will be with You!

Being Available | Joni Tyner

S~ Jesus realized at once that healing power had gone out from him, so he turned around in the crowd and asked,  “who touched my robe?”  Mark 5:30 (NLT)

O~ Earlier in verse 22,  a synagogue ruler named Jairus came and pleaded with Jesus to come with him to lay hands on his 12 year old daughter who was very sick.  Jesus agrees.  While in route, many people start following Jesus, including a woman who has been bleeding for 12 years.  She is desperate to be healed and reaches out and touch the hem of Jesus’s cloak.  Jesus instantly notices he has been touched.

A~ This scripture is reminding me that I need to be sensitive to the occasional random Divine Appointments that God may be putting in my path.  I should follow Jesus’s lead and notice when things are happening around me.  He stopped in his tracks to meet and acknowledge her.  ( btw, he still goes and heals Jairus’s daughter)   I need to be sensitive to the Holy Spirit’s nudging and not miss opportunities while I’m “in route” to the next thing.

P~ Dear Lord,  Please give me Your eyes and ears to see what You have placed in my path , I want to be available and sensitive to other people’s needs.  I also ask for wisdom to keep margin in my life so that I can respond to people with a YES!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

