October 27 Job 18; Psalms 114; Acts 27,28

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Your Presence | Kim Chipman

S~ Tremble, earth, at the presence of the Lord, at the presence of the God of Jacob, Psalm 114:7 (NIV)

O~ My friend sent me this text this morning – a little daily blessing she gets and passes along:

“May Jesus’ presence be especially tangible to you today. May the reality of His love sink deep into your bones. May His faithfulness be your anchor, His promises your protection, and His presence your joy. God is faithful and it is impossible for Him to fail you. He’s made promises to you that he intends to keep. And His presence changes everything. Enjoy and embrace the access God has offered you today.”

A~ Oh, Lord! I’m so grateful for the perfect, intimate ways You reveal Yourself.

Usually I get my time alone with You before everyone gets up. Today it didn’t work out that way, and we had a rough morning in our house. I got frustrated and hurt and said all sorts of words I wish I didn’t say before my family went out the door. I felt ashamed, mad at myself, tired, and like a failure as a Mom and wife. Why can’t I get my emotions together? What the heck?

Then, the beautiful text reminder “May Jesus’ presence be especially tangible to You today…His presence changes everything.”

Then, I sat down with You and Your Word. And there it was again…tremble at the presence of the Lord. Just Your presence is such a gift! I have the Holy Spirit with me all the time and You are right beside me at all times! I easily get caught up in so much minutia that doesn’t really matter. Right now I’m going to reorient my heart…and focus on Your presence. Breathe in, breathe out…I can take on this day!

P~ Thank You that You are always with me! Thank You for meeting me in this pit of self pity and lifting my head and reminding me. You are right here. We can do this together. I love You!

Our Mighty Defender and Provider | Tara Wiley

S~ Tremble, O earth, at the presence of the Lord, at the presence of the God of Jacob. He turned the rock into a pool of water; yes, a spring of water flowed from solid rock. Psalms 114:7-8

O~ His people had a desperate need. He responded with power, with a miraculous rescue. He took the hardened earth and melted it into water.

A~ He is so powerful! How often I forget this, making Him so small and insignificant. How foolish. The mountains in front of me are the insignificant thing. HE is the great and mighty one! The whole earth TREMBLES before Him. Nothing is impossible with Him.

This is my current Fight Song. HE is fighting my battles. HE is breaking the chains. And one day, the fullness of His power will be on display for all to see!

P~ God, You know the mountains in front of me, in front of my friends. Your children are under attack at every turn. But You are greater than any enemy we face. So show us Your power, God. When we feel overwhelmed, overwhelm us with Your might. You are able to take the hardest places and melt them in Your hands into streams of blessing. We wait on You with confidence, God, looking for You to move.

My Moment | Michelle Myers

S~ After the men had gone a long time without food, Paul stood up before them and said: ‘Men, you should have taken my advice not to sail from Crete; then you would have spared yourselves this damage and loss.’ Acts 27:21 (NIV)

O~ This is what I call Paul’s “I told you so moment”.  It comes when they are in the middle of a terrible storm at sea, and they are panicking.

Paul is actually a prisoner on this ship.  He has been arrested due to his faith.

He ends up calming, comforting, and encouraging everyone else. “But now I urge you to keep up your courage, because not one of you will be lost; only the ship will be destroyed.” (Acts 27:22)

He knows this, because an angel came and told him this the night before.

A~ My oldest daughter and I had been miserable due to neck, shoulder and back pain.  I got us into the chiropractor, and I also got myself in for a massage.  I also know that consistent, moderate exercise helps me with this pain.  Yet, I wasn’t exercising consistently.

Then all of a sudden, You started working on me….A FB post appeared from a young girl I know, talking about how she recommends exercise for anyone suffering from back pain.  She said that she doesn’t really like to exercise, but makes sure she does at least 3 times a week, to help with her back pain. A few days later, I came across an article talking about how moderate exercise can really relieve back pain.

Thankfully, I have made progress, because normally it would have taken me a lot longer to “get” that You were trying to show me what to do.  You would have kept sending me signs……over and over and over again, until the light bulb went off!  But, I got it pretty quick this time. Yet, I wasn’t sure what to do with my daughter because she was still hurting.

I started going to the gym in the morning with my husband, and as I was on the tread mill, You told me this is what I need to do for my daughter, and I need to work around her schedule.  Yikes!  That means I would have to go in the morning and evening, because she isn’t old enough to have her own membership.  But, I listened, and we have been going.

My daughter came to me after a few times at the gym and said, “My pain is gone.  Hmmm, maybe you do know something mom.”  I had my own “I told you so so” moment with her.  However, I didn’t say those words.  I just told her, that I was glad that she was feeling better.  My husband told me to enjoy and savor that moment, I probably won’t hear it again for another 10 years.

P~ Since going to the gym twice a day, just doing moderate exercise each time, my neck, back, and shoulders feel so much better.  Also, the scale is starting to go in the right direction for me.  Thank you for that! My daughter also seems to be a little bit more peppy.  Thank you for that!  Now, please help me get over this nasty cold that is wearing me out.  

Some did, some didn’t | Nikki Metzger

S~ Some were persuaded by the things he said, but others did not believe. Acts 28:24 (NLT)

O~ Paul is FINALLY in Rome and a large number are gathered to hear about the Kingdom of God!  He is trying to persuade them about Jesus and this is the end result: some believed, some didn’t believe.

A~ As the Lord’s call to me, ‘Go and make disciples’ becomes stronger and stronger in my heart, I’m realizing that Jesus really did mean me.  I am supposed to go and make disciples.  My going and making disciples is different than others going and making disciples.  But all believers are call to this going and making ministry.

I think I’m a closet perfectionist (or I hate rejection), because as soon as someone says, “No thanks”, I want to give up on my going and making disciples.  But look here.  Paul. Paul!!  He is a seasoned preacher, knows the Word, lives and loves the Word, and actually wrote some of the Word.  He shares to an audience that he is teaching to, and some didn’t believe!

P~ Father, please don’t let this verse discourage me from going and making disciples.  Please let me be encouraged by the ones who did believe!  Father, I love You! I trust You! May Your Kingdom come!  Please raise up more workers for the harvest!

 

 

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 27, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

