October 23 Job 13,14; Acts 17,18

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Testing What is Heard | Joni Tyner

S~ They searched the scriptures day after day to see if Paul and Silas were teaching the truth. Acts 17:11  (NLT)

O~ Paul and Silas are sharing their faith in Jewish Synagogue in Berea.  The people are listening, BUT they are also being wise and checking out what is being said against the scriptures.  They found that everything Paul and Silas said was true!!!  Verse 12 says, “as a result, many Jews believed, as did many of the prominent Greek women and men.

A~ I believe this is super important—I’m learning more and more scripture and this is assisting me in “testing” what is said.  I certainly don’t know all scripture, but when I hear something that is questionable, (usually a comment that is contrary to the character of God) , I get out my Bible, my computer, and do a search to see if what is being proclaimed is accurate.

This situation recently came up when a new believer was sharing some thoughts from a book written by a secular humanitarian.  On the surface, many comments seemed “nice and good” yet, they did not align with scripture.  A few other believers and I  shared with her the importance of checking out what others say against the Bible.  We explained just because a book is being read in a church or a message is spoken by a religious figure, it doesn’t necessarily mean it is accurately reflecting the heart of God.

P~ Dear Lord, help me have a hunger for Your Word, the more I read and study it, the easier it is for me to identify words that have twisted Your truth.  Please instill wisdom in me to always accurately portray Your Word.  I also life up my friend this morning.  Dear Lord, give her a hunger to read Your Words.  Get her excited about seeing Truth.  I pray that Your Holy Spirit pursues her with an unsettling feeling when she is around words that are imitation of You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 23, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

