October 18 Job 3,4; Acts 8,9

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

No Piety Without Jesus | Michelle Myers

S~ Your words have supported those who stumbled; you have strengthened faltering knees.  But now trouble comes to you, and you are discouraged; it strikes you, and you are dismayed.  Should not your piety be your confidence and your blameless ways your hope? Job 4:4-6 (NIV)

O~ According to the on-line dictionary, piety means, “The quality of being religious or reverent.”  Synonyms listed for it are……devoutness, devotion, holiness, godliness, and saintliness.  Which according to the Bible, Job was as close as a human being can get to these things.  “This man was blameless and upright; he feared God and shunned evil.” (Job 1:1)

A~ Jobs friends repeatedly fall short, in regards to comforting him.  I often fall short in being able to comfort my friends when they are going through something.  I have come to realize that many times, all I can say is that a situation does stink, and pull in some of my own similar life experiences to help me be empathetic to what they are going through.

Then there are times, that I have NO similar experiences and just have to resort back to, “It does stink!”  I have never lost a child.  I never went completely through a divorce and spent the next ten years, switching off weekends with my ex-spouse.  My husband wasn’t tragically or suddenly taken away from me.

I have a lot to be thankful for, and I can easily forget that.  I have to remember that.  When I hear people struggling with a yucky situation, and forgetting or dismissing all the blessings that You have given to them, I have to remember, how hard it is to remember and see, when someone is in that hard place.  It isn’t my job as a good, gracious friend to get them to snap out of it and see!

However, the blessings that I do have, are not because of my  piety or blameless ways.  Just as some bad circumstances don’t happen, because of someone else’s lack of piety.

One of the things I truly do love about You, besides Your grace; is Your ability to gently humble me.  I don’t want to be deceived about myself and my holiness, godliness, or saintliness.  Because truth be told, on my own I have none.  It is because of Jesus and HIS sacrifice that I have these things. So, when not so gracious, judgmental thoughts start to creep into my mind, You remind of something I did that was just as unwise, sinful, etc.

It is at those moments, I am reminded of who we all are and who we all need!

P~ Thank you God for graciously humbling me.  I want to be a good wife, mother, and friend.  For me, one of the best ways to do this, when someone is going through something, is to know and understand how much I fall short.  Obviously, I need you to keep reminding me.

Praying | Nikki Metzger

S~ So Ananias went and found Saul… ~Acts 9:17a(NLT)

O~ Ananias was a believer.  Saul was killing believers.  God asked Ananias to go and pray for Saul.  Ananias hesitated, he said, “But Lord, (excuse, excuse)”.  For Ananias, this was like walking into a death trap.  Ananias hesitated, but he did go meet with Saul and pray for him.

A~ I keep praying, ‘whatever it takes Lord to reach this person’.  It’s their eternity!!  I know how stubborn and how many layers of unspoken hurt this person has.  What will it REALLY take for this person’s heart to be open to go into deep relationship with Father, Son, Spirit?

It scares me, what I think God will have to do to reach this person.  Like something devastating to happen to me or someone close to me.  It’s truly a fear I have.  I want this person to have a growing, passionate relationship with Jesus, but what if something MAJOR has to happen for them to come into relationship with Jesus, like I die?  Oh my gosh, I said it.

Ananias probably felt those exact same things that I feel.  God was sending him to talk to a murderer of believers.  Ananias didn’t want to die or go to jail or have Saul come after his family.  I can imagine Ananias feeling what I’m feeling….fear.  Yet, Ananias went and it started a journey that changed our world forever!

P~ Father, I fear so much surrounding this topic.  Your perfect love casts out fear, and You have conquered death!  I yield to Your will and not my own.  Please help me to open my hand in surrender instead of gripping my fears so tightly.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 18, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

