October 17 Job 1,2; Acts 6,7

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Stirring the Pot | Michelle Myers

S~ And the LORD said to Satan, ‘Where have You come from?’ Satan answered the LORD, “From roaming through the earth and going back and forth in it. Job 2:2 (NIV)

O~ The fact is, that Satan isn’t just aimlessly roaming the earth, he is creating a lot of havoc as he roams.  Now, if one of my children was roaming up and down the street, causing misery, creating destruction, and “stirring the pot”; as long as they dwelt in my home and were under my authority, I would put an end to it and encourage them to do something else.  In fact, even when they aren’t being mischievous, just unproductive, with too much technology or laying around, I ask them, “Don’t you have anything better to do?”  I have had to intervene with myself a few times in regards to certain meaningless, unproductive activities.  However, for Satan, no he REALLY doesn’t have ANYTHING better to do.  He isn’t going to live a purposeful life, serving God.  Nor, does he want ME TO EITHER!

A~ Last week, I was having breakfast with a group of Christian women. We started discussing our relationship with our mothers, and we all had strained relationships to some degree with them.  Yet, as one women described her mom’s comments and behavior last time she visited her, another one commented, “My mom did stuff like that also.  She always had to stir the pot.”

For me, HUGE healing came, when I realized that in many ways, that is what Satan is trying to do, and if he isn’t doing it himself, he finds other people willing to let him do it through them.  Many times, they aren’t even aware of what they are doing or who is behind it.  For many years, I wasn’t either, in regards to my own words and actions.

I don’t get emotionally and mentally snagged as much as I used to, in regards to people’s words and actions towards me.  I can’t control them, and how they allow Satan to project his evil through them, but I can control how much I allow it to get me off track and confused.

P~ Thank you God for the clarity that You have given to me.  It has helped me have a better and healthier marriage and relationship with my children.  It has helped me, help them have a better and healthier relationship with each other, as sisters.  None of those positive family dynamics were the model of what I came from.  It is by YOUR grace, that I am able to see it and take what I didn’t get, and use it to do better with my own relationships.  Please just continue to help me tune the voices of people and the world out, so I can clearly hear Your voice. Then I will know in my heart, what I need to do, and can trust that You will work it out for good.

Taking the Good with the Bad | Robin Laney

S~ But he said to her, “You speak as one of the foolish women would speak. Shall we receive good from God, and shall we not receive evil?” In all this Job did not sin with his lips. Job 2:10 (ESV)

O~ Job lost his children and his property all in one day but did not accuse God. Now, he loses his health and his wife encourages him to curse God and die. His response was one of complete faith in a sovereign God who is good.

A~ Faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. I truly believe that God is sovereign, wise, all-powerful, loving, faithful, compassionate, and good. I see the truth of who He is played out in the Bible, in the lives of others through time, and in my own life. I believe His promises for now and for eternity. I believe there is a battle going on for the souls of all people and I believe the end of the story. I have seen the ways of the enemy play out for good in God’s hands over and over again. Therefore, I believe that all things that fall on me, good and bad, are worked for my good, ultimately. The bad things can be excruciatingly hard and, on their face, can make life look hopeless, but God. God lets nothing go to waste. The beautiful things point to His goodness and the hard things do as well. I know that He works ALL things for good for those who love Him. I do and so He does. I am not afraid of the hard things because I believe His promise that I am never alone in them and that all things pass through His hands before they ever get to me. I cannot see what is going on in the invisible spiritual world but by faith I am assured that He is for me and so I can praise Him in all circumstances.

P~ Lord, it’s easy in the good times to praise You and to feel certain that I will stand firm in praise for You when tragedy strikes. Please, constantly remind me of the Truths of who You are and give me the faith of Job. Let me never waver in my faith because I know who You are. Keep me focused on the end of the story, the finish line, the real race at hand, and my purpose in it. Thank You for Your word written to, in part, teach me of Your character and the testimony of the saints that strengthens my faith in You. Might I have no fear of the present because I have hope in the future!

The Election | Joni Tyner

S~ So the Twelve called a meeting of all the believers. They said, “We apostles should spend our time teaching the word of God, not running a food program.  And so, brothers, select seven men who are well respected and are full of the Spirit and wisdom. We will give them this responsibility. Then we apostles can spend our time in prayer and teach the word.  Acts 6:3-4 (NLT)

Job stood up and tore his robe in grief.  Then he shaved his head and fell to the ground to worship.  Job 1:20 (NLT)

O~ Acts is explaining that the Twelve should use their time investing in people through teaching, prayer and the building of the Kingdom.  They decided to delegate 7 wise men to care for the logistics of meeting the people’s needs. (sounds like an early government program to me.)

A~ I was scrolling through my Facebook newsfeed this morning before I read this scripture.  There is so much about the election—both candidates are highlighting each other’s sins and past mistakes and I’m confused and disappointed that our country seems to lack so much integrity in the potential leadership of our country.  The last video clip I watched was from Andy Stanley and he pointed out that God is still in control and sometimes God uses unlikely people to advance his agenda and Kingdom.   Although, this didn’t give me clear direction about the best choice to vote for, it did give me comfort that whatever happens on November 8th, God is still King and it will be okay.  I may feel helpless and in despair, (like Job) , yet, I will choose to fall to the ground and worship God.   Acts 6 doesn’t help me decide who to vote for, (because it certainly doesn’t appear either candidate is filled with the Spirit or deserves much respect) but it does, it absolutely DOES, instruct me to continue to spend my time in the Word and in prayer.  God’s plan for the United States, and the entire world will not be advanced (or messed up for that matter) by who is elected but rather by His people rising up and being a voice of truth and integrity.

P~ Sweet Jesus, I am saddened by so many “what if’s” when I watch TV and see the latest in the political circus surrounding the election.  Please surround each candidate with wise counsel and pour Truth and wisdom into each of their hearts.  I believe we all are capable of change through trusting and submitting to You.  I don’t know who is Your “choice”, I just know that You are God and we are not. I pray compassion and goodness and integrity is my response to the Enemy—please help me choose worship over the temptation to whine and complain about the political atmosphere of our country.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 17, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I like this simple SOAP approach you are doing, I’m going to use it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

