October 16 Malachi 3,4; Psalms 148; Acts 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

What If? | Michelle Myers

S~ You have said, ‘It is futile to serve God.  What did we gain by carrying out his requirements and going about like mourners before the LORD Almighty?’  Malachi 3:14 (NIV)

O~ Oh, I have been there!  After everything came out with my husband, in regards to his addiction, I was questioning what good it did to follow You. After I stayed and endured more crap, with the hopes of keeping my marriage and family together, only to have my husband stuck in his own selfish stubbornness and loosing everything I had worked for…..my marriage, my family, my job, my home, my money, etc……I was there questioning what good it did to follow You.

Yet, when the dust settled, and the sting of loosing all that, wasn’t so painful, it was my uncertainty in You that was so excruciating.  I finally understood that people were broken, I needed boundaries, I had choices, etc.; yet following You seemed like an endless pit of pain.

I was so confused!…..Could I REALLY count on You?…….Will You really work everything out for good?……If You allow all of this to happen to me, how are You any different than the countless people who didn’t have my back?…..All of THAT turmoil in my head, was way worse than any of the turmoil I have experienced with people.

A~ So, as You know, when a bunch of crap continues to happen over a short period of time, I can begin to struggle with the same questions.  I can easily forget how You have worked things out for good before.  I can even fight and argue with You, because You didn’t work them out the way I wanted.

However, I can’t deny the peace and growth I have experienced because of my relationship with You.  I just can’t.  Honestly, that is the gain I get from following You.

It isn’t that all my problems are going to go away.  It isn’t that people are going to stop being morons, and that includes me, because I can be just as moronic as the next person.  It is the peace, hope, and grace I have because of my relationship with You, when I lay down my own life, plans, and stop fighting You in regards to who You made me and the life You have given to me.

A few weeks ago, I was struggling with You.  I heard You ask me a lot of what if’s…..

“What if Your relationship with your mom never gets healed?”

“What if You never lose a pound?”

“What if Your bank account doesn’t get to where you want it?”

“What if Your kids don’t listen to your advice, appreciate you, etc?”

You went through this whole list of things that I judge the value of myself and my life on, and then You asked me, “If none of that happens, will Your life have been a waste?”

When I let go of my expectations, my plans, and my will; and I looked at the truth of my life and my relationship with You, I could honestly say that if I don’t get what I want, I still have a very meaningful life.  It is my relationship with You, following You, and an eternal perspective that brings true value to my life.

The truth is, I also have no idea how many seeds are being planted in the lives of others, when I follow You.  It may seem like a waste of time, energy, and resources at the time, but the truth is, my job is to just do and trust in what You tell me.

P~ I am so thankful, God, for my relationship with You.  I honestly don’t know where I would be without it.  Please just keep giving me what I need to grow.  The process is painful, uncomfortable, and frustrating; but well worth it in the end.

Right-Relatedness | Kelley Deases

S~ His [Elijah’s] preaching will bring fathers and children together again, to be of one mind and heart, for they will know that if they do not repent, I will come and utterly destroy their land. Malachi 4:6 (The Living Bible)

O~  My margin note reads: “Elijah’s message is a call to righteousness, or ‘right-relatedness.’ Specifically, he mentions the family and especially parent-child relationships.” It is noteworthy how Scripture highlights the connection between our spiritual well-being and our family harmony — our having right hearts in our closest earthly relationships and having a right heart toward God, Our Father.

A~ At a fundraiser event last night, I was catching up with a good friend and recounting my usual tales of exasperation with the antics of my youngest son. It is a conversation I have had many times and I daresay most of my friends and family are well aware of my struggle to parent this boy well, as opposed to the comparatively easy go I had of it raising my older son, who is more of a “pleaser/compliant” personality. But in that same conversation with this dear sister in Christ, we reflected on God’s Sovereignty in giving me this child and in giving him me for a mom. God can use and is using this oft-trying relationship to teach me (grace, patience, forgiveness, respecting others who don’t always act and think like I do) and grow me up to more closely resemble Christ. Whether our mother-son relationship is peaceful or turbulent tends to be a pretty accurate barometer of whether I am choosing to take on Christ’s mind and heart in my interactions.

P~  Father, Your Word is true. Thank You for revealing how the health of my walk with You shows up in my other relationships, especially the one I have with my son.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 16, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

