October 15 Nehemiah 13; Malachi 1,2; Acts 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Live Wisely | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Wasn’t it enough that your ancestors did this sort of thing, so that our God brought the present troubles upon us and our city?  Now you are bringing more wrath upon the people of Israel by permitting the Sabbath to be desecrated in this way!  Nehemiah 13:18 (NLT)

O~ Nehemiah clarified the situation:  the troubles you are facing now are because your ancestors did back then what you are doing now, and by doing what you are doing now, you are bringing wrath upon the people.

A~ My sins have an affect on me, my future and others in my life.  I understand there is grace, I understand I shouldn’t live in the past, or future, but I can learn from the past and think about how my choices now will affect others and myself in the future.

P~ Father, thank you for grace and mercy.  Help me to live in a way that does not take your grace and mercy for granted.  Help me to live responsibly and make wise choices.  Please give me wisdom today.

Snobbing the Lord? | Nikki Metzger

S~ You say, ‘It’s too hard to serve the Lord,’ and you turn up your noses at My commands,” says the Lord of Heaven’s Armies.  Malachi 1:13a (NLT)

O/A~ Life is hard.  Parenting is hard.  Marriage is hard.  Work is hard.  Relationships are hard.  Taking care of my body (the temple where the Spirit lives) is hard.  These are things I say out loud to myself and other people.  I am supposed to do all these in way that serves the Lord.  So when I say something is too hard and don’t do it, am I turning my nose up at God’s commands?

P~ Father, am I snobbing You?  Am I turning my nose up at some of Your commands?  When I think of my health, I probably am turning my nose up at You.  But when I think of making health a priority, I want to cry over what kind of commitment that is.  Where does it fit in Lord?  It’s overwhelming to me to add some new thing…..please change my thoughts about this!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 15, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

