October 14 Nehemiah 11,12; Psalms 1; Acts 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Where Am I Resting? | Tara Wiley

S~ Oh, the joys of those who do not follow the advice of the wicked, or stand around with sinners, or join in with mockers. Psalms 1:1 (NLT)

O~ In the Amplified version, the last phrase is translated “to sit down to rest in the seat of scoffers (ridiculers). This implies spending concentrated time among scoffers.

A~ When I am spending countless hours of my day thinking about, reading about, talking about the upcoming election, this is EXACTLY what I am doing: sitting down to rest in the seat of scoffers.

In C S Lewis’ “Screwtape Letters,” Lewis creates a series of letters between a senior demon and his apprentice, detailing training in how to deceive, torment, and eventually turn humans away from Christ – and if that fails, then to keep them from being fruitful for Him. A friend just posted a quote written in this style that hit me in the gut:

“Be sure that the patient remains completely fixated on politics. Arguments, political gossip, and obsessing on the faults of people they have never met serves as an excellent distraction from advancing in personal virtue, character, and the things the patient can control. Make sure to keep the patient in a constant state of angst, frustration, and general disdain towards the rest of the human race in order to avoid any kind of charity or inner peace from further developing. Ensure the patient continues to believe that the problem is ‘out there’ in the ‘broken system’ rather than recognizing there is a problem within himself.”

Zing.

P~ Lord, I am guilty. Guilty of focusing on the wrong things lately. Yes, it is important to be informed. Yes, I need to be a good citizen. But obsessing with politics right now is not proving fruitful in my life in any way. I need to pray more and worry less. So, Lord, I will declare Your sovereignty once again, thanking You for Your promises to provide and to protect my soul no matter what is going on in the world around me. You are ultimately in control, no matter who sits in the Oval Office So I submit my concerns to You and choose to rest in You! You’ve got this. Just because the future seems more blatantly uncertain right now does not make it any more out of my hands than it always is. So I trust YOU with the next moments in my life, with all the stresses of this day, and I hand to You the future of my nation as well. I am so glad I can trust You to handle it all! You are good, You are just, and in the end, YOU will prevail. So I can rest easy tonight. No matter what. Thank You, Lord, for that. Help me to stand firm in my determination to focus on YOU, Your truth, Your Word, and Your ways, so I can be like a tree planted by streams of water, bearing fruit for You in every season.

This tree!! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Oh, the joys of those who do not follow the advice of the wicked, or stand around with sinners, or join in with mockers.  But they delight in the law of the Lord, meditating on it day and night.  They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season.  Their leaves never wither, and they prosper in all they do. Psalm 1: 1-3 (NLT)

O~ A tree that bears fruit and has leaves that never wither is an illustration of a believer.  Someone whose roots are right in to the Source of Living Water.  Their life is marked by peace, patience, kindness, goodness, etc.  It is a beautiful illustration!  What I never noticed before is what comes before that wonderful tree:
-Don’t follow the advice of the wicked
-Don’t hang out with sinners
-Don’t join in with making fun of others
-Delight in God’s Word
-Think about His Word A LOT

A~ Of course I want to like the prosperous tree that never withers.  And I want that for my kids too!

P~ Father, thank You!  I desire for me and my kids to be like this tree!  Please give us Your wisdom so we don’t follow the advice of the wicked!  Don’t let us choose our inner group (the people we let pour into us) be on the path to destruction.  Don’t allow our lips or hearts to hurt others.  Give us minds to delight in Your Word and the capacity of meditate on it all day and night.  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Stay Connected | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But they delight in doing everything the Lord wants; day and night they think about this law.

They are like trees planted along the riverbank, bearing fruit each season without fail.

Their leaves never wither, and in all they do, they prosper.  Psalm 1:2,3 (NLT)

O & A~  These verses encourage me to rise above my feelings.  I have been feeling unmotivated, resentful, and simply unhappy.  But these verses encourage me to keep on keeping on; they give me hope, they remind me that I need to stay connected to you and as I do you bear good fruit in me.

P~  Father, please forgive my attitude.  I need your help.  My heart and thoughts need truth.  Thank you for hope that is found in you. Thank you for encouraging me today. ❤

Do Not Turn Aside | Kelley Deases

S~ When he [a crippled beggar] saw Peter and John about to enter, he asked them for money. Peter looked straight at him, as did John. Then Peter said, ‘Look at us!’ So the man gave them his attention, expecting to get something from them. Acts 3:3-5 (NIV)

O/A~ At my new place of employment, Heartland Hope Mission, there is a verse scrawled on a chalkboard which reads, “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat. I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink. I was a stranger and you took me in.” Matthew 25:35-36 (paraphrased) Just as much as these famous words of Jesus, these verses from Acts strike me as no less what we are to be about. When these disciples of Christ became aware of the crippled beggar at the entrance of the temple gate, they “looked straight at him.” They did not turn aside, ignore his petition, or call someone else to address his concerns. Then Peter sought the beggar’s attention, which the man eagerly gave because he was “expecting to get something from them.” What a perfect opportunity and platform Peter and John had to speak the name of Jesus Christ, now that they had his attention. This, it seems to me, is the model of the mission. We are in a position to supply some of people’s physical needs, at least temporarily — food, clothing, hygiene, diapers, resources and referrals. But we possess something infinitely more valuable – the name of Jesus Christ and who He is and what He has done. Now that we have their attention.

P~ Father, Give each of us, as a staff and volunteers and donors and friends of Heartland Hope Mission, a fresh revelation for the opportunity we have, to meet needs and change lives and eternities.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

Posted on October 14, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

