October 11 Nehemiah 5,6; Psalms 146; Luke 24

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

A Solid Foundation in the Chaos | Tara Wiley

S~ I have set the Lord continually before me; because He is at my right hand I shall not be moved. Psalm 16:8 AMP (because sometimes, a verse hits you square between the eyes, and that’s what you need to SOAP about!)

O~ God, my focus.

God, my strength.

God, my solid ground.

A~ Life is noisy right now: so loud, so intense on every side. I can get easily overwhelmed…discouraged…obsessive about escaping it all with mindless distraction that leaves me feeling no better than when I began. But THIS rock solid truth cuts through the noise:

With YOU before me, with me looking to You as my strength (in the Old Testament, the right hand is a symbol of strength – He is strengthening me at my right hand), I have solid ground beneath me: a firm footing not dependent on wishy-washy circumstances.

P~ Lord, You are the Rock I cling to! You are my firm foundation! But just like Peter, I am so apt to take my eyes off You and onto the rolling waves around me – and when I do, I start to sink! Thank You for being at my right hand, ready to lift me back up and set me on solid ground again.

Jesus, today I determine once again to set YOU continually before me! I will prioritize Your word over Facebook, Your reign over politics, Your truth over my doubt, Your strength over my weakness, Your joy over my rocking emotions. Thank You that today is a fresh start, a new beginning, something beautiful for You to weave in me. I give You my failures, admit my wrong, ask for Your forgiveness. I know I cannot experience Your full blessing when I am allowing sin to control my life. I cannot be as effective for You. I cannot know the depth of Your fruit – love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness, self-control – they are dulled by my sin, like a faded photograph. Today I want to live in brilliant full color! I want to step in line with Your Spirit! I want to know Your whisper, to not shut it out with mindless distraction in every free moment of my day. YOU are at my right hand. Help me stand solidly with You all day long.

Praise the Lord! | Nikki Metzger

S~ Praise the Lord!  Let all that I am praise the Lord.  I will praise the Lord as long as I live.  I will sing praises to my God with my dying breath. Psalm 146:1, 2 (NLT)

O~ Why would a mighty warrior king say this and let it be his life’s theme?  David had everything and yet, he still just offered his life up in praise.

A~ I think one of the things that David did in his life and in the rest of this psalm is this:  the Lord was his perspective, not his circumstances.  David counted confidence in people as lost because one day they would die.

David’s confidence and life theme of a praiseful life was held up by the God who created everything, who helps the oppressed, who protects the weak, the One who was, is, and will always be.  So David’s view of the world wasn’t based on what was happening around him, it was based on who he knew the Lord to be.

P ~ Father, wow!  I’ve never entered my day that way.  May You grant me perspective of my life to be centered around You and not my circumstances.  Thank You!  I pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Sovereign and Trustworthy | Robin Laney

S~ The Lord watches over the sojourners;
he upholds the widow and the fatherless,
but the way of the wicked he brings to ruin. Psalm 146:9 (ESV)

O~ Psalms of praise, they take our focus off ourselves and our circumstances and remind us who our God is. They remind us of the power and sovereignty of God. They shift our earthly perspective to a Heavenly one as we consider our world. They show us God’s heart and character.

A~ Such a timely word for my heart and mind. With all of the craziness going on in the world with the political world and social issues and personal circumstances, it’s so nice to be able to get a grip on the real reality and refocus my faith on the One able to do something about it all. It’s so easy to get caught up in looking for a person or group of people to sort everything out, to cure the ills, and make the world right.

We received a call from our daughters’ mother this past week. We began pursuing the adoption of two beautiful girls from Jamaica about five years ago. In the process of waiting for their mother to allow the adoption to proceed, Hadiya became an adult. She is now 22 and, by God’s amazing Grace, is now living with us and going to college by way of a student visa and God’s financial provision through so many of His people. Such a cool way made by our God who sees us! Abigail is now 10 and still living at City of Refuge Children’s Home in Jamaica. We have been waiting expectantly for such a long time for them to be with us and, for the past 3 1/2 years, have had no indication that Abby would be with us anytime soon.

Last Wednesday, I received a phone call from her mother, Sandra. She expressed that she is thankful that Hadiya is now here and that she desires for Abby to be here as well. While, right now, Sandra seems to hold this adoption in her hands as the first step in the process is contingent on her release of parental rights, I know that it is all really in God’s hands. He upholds the fatherless. He is Abby’s defender, her protector, her helper. He sees her right where she is and promises not to leave her. Ever. Her future is in His hands. While I look to Sandra to do her part, my hope is not in her. My hope is in the Lord.

I certainly don’t understand why it is taking so long to get Abby here (when he clearly told Dave to go get her) and it certainly wouldn’t be the story I would have written, myself, but I trust God with the outcome knowing that He is all-wise, all-knowing, and all-powerful. I believe His promises and have seen His miracles and so I place Abby’s care in His hands and wait and watch expectantly for her life story to unfold. The stories He directs are always the best.

P~ Praise to You, my Lord, oh my soul! I will praise You all my life. I will sing praise to you, my God, as long as I live. I do not put my trust in mortal men and women, who cannot save. When their spirit departs, they return to the ground and their plans become nothing. My help is in You, the Maker of heaven and earth, the sea, and everything in them, the One who remains faithful forever. Praise You, Lord!

He is Watching | Kelley Deases

S~  The Lord watches over the alien and sustains the fatherless and the widow, but he frustrates the ways of the wicked. Psalm 146:9 (NIV)

O~  Sometimes the truth of this verse is, by all appearances, obscured. We look around and see evil thriving in all manner of twisted forms in all parts of the world. And we see the suffering of orphans, of refugees, of destitute widows, of starving children, equally as prevalent. So how are we to believe God really sees the plight of the helpless and blocks the wicked from their horrific deeds? In our limited sight, we can only see this life. God’s perspective is an eternal one. His justice will prevail; we don’t always see the end of the story.

A~ When I read this verse today, I thought of the contrasting lives of two historical figures — Adolf Hitler and Corrie ten Boom. For all the power he once wielded, widespread terror he inflicted, and atrocities for which he was responsible, Hitler came to the end of his life holed up in a bunker, surrounded by Russian troops, and taking his own life with cyanide and a gunshot to his own head in 1945, at age 46. On the other hand, Corrie ten Boom lived to the age of 91, helping so many escape and find refuge and inspiring so many more with her faith and ability to forgive, despite being captured and hauled off to a concentration camp herself as part of Hitler’s evil scheme. God saw their choices, their actions, and their hearts, and is the final Judge of their eternal souls.

P~  Father, When I am despairing over the state of the world I see around me, it is a comfort to know You see everything and will be the ultimate Judge. Help me to make You proud of Your daughter as I even attempt to walk out my days with the kind of beautiful grace Corrie ten Boom displayed in the midst of heartbreak and suffering.

He is Watching | Kelley Deases

S~  The Lord watches over the alien and sustains the fatherless and the widow, but he frustrates the ways of the wicked. Psalm 146:9 (NIV)

O~  Sometimes the truth of this verse is, by all appearances, obscured. We look around and see evil thriving in all manner of twisted forms in all parts of the world. And we see the suffering of orphans, of refugees, of destitute widows, of starving children, equally as prevalent. So how are we to believe God really sees the plight of the helpless and blocks the wicked from their horrific deeds? In our limited sight, we can only see this life. God’s perspective is an eternal one. His justice will prevail; we don’t always see the end of the story.

A~ When I read this verse today, I thought of the contrasting lives of two historical figures — Adolf Hitler and Corrie ten Boom. For all the power he once wielded, widespread terror he inflicted, and atrocities for which he was responsible, Hitler came to the end of his life holed up in a bunker, surrounded by Russian troops, and taking his own life with cyanide and a gunshot to his own head in 1945, at age 46. On the other hand, Corrie ten Boom lived to the age of 91, helping so many escape and find refuge and inspiring so many more with her faith and ability to forgive, despite being captured and hauled off to a concentration camp herself as part of Hitler’s evil scheme. God saw their choices, their actions, and their hearts, and is the final Judge of their eternal souls.

P~  Father, When I am despairing over the state of the world I see around me, it is a comfort to know You see everything and will be the ultimate Judge. Help me to make You proud of Your daughter as I even attempt to walk out my days with the kind of beautiful grace Corrie ten Boom displayed in the midst of heartbreak and suffering.

ctb

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 11, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

