October 9 Nehemiah 1,2; Psalms 133,134; Luke 22

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Ask | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Jesus sent Peter and John ahead and said, “Go and prepare the Passover meal, so we can eat it together.”

“Where do you want us to go?” they asked him.   Luke 22:8,9 (NLT)

O~  Jesus tells Peter and John to go and prepare the Passover meal and they simply ask where.  Jesus tells them where to go and what to do.

A~ I need to be simple in my life.  If I don’t understand it freezes me up.  But I don’t have to understand in order to obey.  Or maybe what you’re showing me is that I just need to ask questions.  Ask questions.

P~ Father, thank you for your word, your guidance in my life and for making things simple for me.

Strengthen Others | Kim Chipman

S~ But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.” Luke 22:32 (NIV)

O~ It almost seems like there is a sentence missing here. Like – I’ve prayed for you, but I know you’re going to mess up and turn away. And when you have turned back, strengthen your brothers.

A~ I feel like this is the request for all of us. You pray that my faith will not fail (how amazing is it to imagine that YOU pray for ME!?), but it will – I’m not perfect and never will be. It’s important to use my failures and short comings to realize my need for You – and encourage and strengthen others. Staying stuck in shame or continuing down a bad path is easy to do. It is so awesome that we have each other and You expect me to reach out tho those who are struggling.

I read this blog post the other day…the photo really captured my interest/attention

shame-dies

Shame poisons hope — poisons hope that things can change.  That we can ever be changed, ever be accepted, ever be good enough.” but “Shame dies when stories are told in safe places.”

Creating safe, healing places is part of my calling. This I know. I’ve messed up and turned away more than I’d care to admit, but I know You can use it all for healing and it serves a purpose instead of serving shame. I can use it to strengthen others – just like You asked Simon to do.

P~ Lord, help me to do this well! Help me to not sit paralyzed in shame, but to turn back and strengthen others. For Your glory. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 9, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

