October 8 Ezra 9,10; Psalms 131; Luke 21

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Bold Faith | Kim Chipman

S~  I was ashamed to ask the king for soldiers and horsemen to protect us from enemies on the road, because we had told the king, “The gracious hand of our God is on everyone who looks to him, but his great anger is against all who forsake him.” Ezra 8:22 (NIV)

O~ Ezra totally trusted God to protect them. They humbly fasted and prayed for protection, but they didn’t want God’s glory to be tarnished by their lack of trust.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6 (NIV) {my life verse}

A~ This is bold faith! Do I have faith this bold? To fast and pray humbly then walk into danger with ONLY God to protect me? This challenges my trust. Ezra didn’t want the king to see that he needed any protection other than YOU. Then the king would know and see Your power. Do I trust like that?

P~ Lord, I believe but help my unbelief! Help me to live boldly for You, not just safe. I love You!

Telling others about Jesus | Nikki Metzger

S~ But this will be your opportunity to tell them about Me. Luke 21:13 (NLT)

O~ Jesus is talking about the future, a time of great persecution.  Where believers will be dragged into every area of life: church, prison, before high ranking leaders.  Jesus says it is a time to tell these people about Him.

A~ I think it’s a horrible time for Christians now, our culture can be defined as post-Christian.  We still have freedom in the US, but it’s probably going to diminish.  As believers get dragged into these arenas in life, I see God’s goodness over this.  God is still giving people an opportunity to believe in Jesus through a testimony.

And if the people who hear the testimony that day and refuse to believe in Him, they will have to face that decision.  Dang!

P~ Father, telling people about Jesus, especially, those who have disdain for You, religion, Jesus, faith, is so difficult for me.  Why is it so hard for me to share about Jesus?  And even my testimony to people with hardened hearts?  Do I care too much what ‘man’ thinks of me?  Am I more concerned with my comfort than Your truth?  Do I need to be in a position of mighty discomfort (arrest or persecution) to proclaim Your Name?    Whatever is inside of me that is fearful of proclaiming Your Name now and not telling my story, please shine truth on it!  I really want to use every opportunity I have with people to share Jesus!  I pray for Your Wisdom and strength in this!  In Jesus’ Name!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

