October 7 Ezra 7,8; Luke 20

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Soul Quiet | Kelley Deases

S~ But I have stilled and quieted my soul; like a weaned child with his mother, like a weaned child is my soul within me. Psalm 131:2 (NIV)

O~ The imagery in this verse is so beautiful. To speak of quieting one’s very soul — not merely shutting one’s mouth or shutting out distractions — connotes a permeating, all-encompassing peace. Also, the picture of a weaned baby says complete dependence and trust, but not the frenetic, fussy, crying baby who becomes crazed in his need for immediate feeding.

A~ I am learning a new schedule and a new pace, one which incorporates new employment. While I have only taken on a 15-hour per week (at this point) position, it is causing other activities to be shifted and shuffled around. Add to that the stress of learning new tasks (with my old brain!) and interfacing with new people and meeting project deadlines, this period feels anything but still and quiet. In an effort to keep up with added responsibilities and get enough sleep, I have neglected my daily time where I would normally quiet my soul before the Lord. But the picture painted by David in this psalm reminds me of that place of soul quiet……and I desperately want more of it!

P~ Father, You gently draw me back when I stray from Your Presence. Back to the place of peace and complete contentment only You can offer.

 

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on October 7, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

