September 28 Zechariah 1,2,3; Luke 11

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Simply Ask | Kelley Deases

S~ So I [Jesus] say to you: Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. Luke 11:9 (NIV)

O~  God wants to help us, to bless us, to give us good gifts. But he desires those things be borne out of the relationship we share with Him; that we come to Him, our benevolent Father, with our wants and needs, showing child-like trust and dependence and that we acknowledge Him when we receive His answer (whatever it is) with thanksgiving and praise.

A~  Prayer is probably my weakest spiritual discipline. I love to fellowship with other believers, share testimonies, and encourage one another. I love to worship and lift my voice. I have come to love reading His Word and finding that gem of truth He wants to speak over my life. I am a cheerful giver, to others and to the Church. But my prayer life remains a bit sporadic and stale, even after all these years walking with the Lord. But Jesus reminds me how simple it is, giving us the words we now call “The Lord’s Prayer” and further teaching me to simply ask, seek, and knock. Of course I know how to ask my husband, friend, or neighbor for something — be it a cup of sugar or maybe their forgiveness, And, more than anyone else I could possibly speak with, He wants to hear from me what is on my heart.

P~  Father, At times I feel overwhelmed to the point of paralysis by all the things I should pray for: my friend’s struggling marriage due to alcoholism, needing Your help as I get up to speed on a new job, my other friend’s financial stress, my son’s upcoming wedding (and, more importantly, his marriage), and on and on. Other times, it seems I hardly know what to say at all. Help me to remain in constant contact, articulating to You what is on my heart as it comes to me and just acknowledging who You are when I don’t have a specific concern in mind.

Not Always the “Gifts” I Want | Michelle Myers

S~ If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him! Luke 11:13 (NIV)

O/A~ There are a lot of gifts that I give to my children that they don’t consider “gifts”.  Most of the time they come in the form of guidance, discipline, and consequences.  They are there to help grow their character.  They don’t really see them as “gifts”.  Unfortunately, neither do I, many times when You are giving them to me.

P~ Thank you God for giving me the parent-child relationship with You, as an example to help me understand and work through my parenting relationship with my own children.  All my pouting, doesn’t change what “gifts” you are giving to me.  Please help me remember that they shouldn’t with my own children either.

Religious Demands | Nikki Metzger

S~ For you crush people with your unbearable religious demands, and you never lift a finger to ease the burden.  ~ Jesus in Luke 11:46b (NLT)

O~ Jesus is criticizing the religious teachers, pointing out very bluntly their sin.

A~ I am a spiritual leader, so I need to ask the Lord if what Jesus said to these religious teachers applies to me.

P~ Father, I think of my kids, students, bible study sisters…..Search my heart and point out anything that offends You.  Lead me along the path of everlasting life! Father, I never want to impose unbearable religious demands!  From me or from people who I’m in contact with!  May others never walk away from a conversation with me having religious chains added to them!  Including my children!  Focus my heart, mind, words on the heart, never behavior.  And Father, please turn me into a person who eases burdens, not one who never lifts a finger.  I love You and pray this in Jesus’ Name!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 28, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

