September 22 Daniel 9,10; Psalms 123; Luke 5

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

One Hot Mess | Michelle Myers

S~ We have endured much ridicule from the proud, much contempt from the arrogant. Psalm 123:4 (NIV)

O/A~ I have been struggling with ridicule and contempt….FROM MYSELF, FOR MYSELF!  It sounds crazy, but the enemy doesn’t always need other people to speak junk to me, I am pretty good at letting him into my head at various times.  Once in there, he has a hayday with the ridicule and contempt thing.

I usually know when this is occurring.  I can’t focus.  I don’t keep things in perspective.   I can’t see my blessings.  I don’t see me, the way YOU see me.  I often feel like I am going crazy.  The longer this goes on, the more my emotions get wrapped up in my circumstances. The older and more hormonal I get, the more my emotions can do a 180 in a split second. Before I know it, I am one HUGE…..HOT…..MESS.  Then I am no good to anyone, and that just helps perpetuate and feed the ridicule and contempt I have for myself.

P~ Thank you God for the clarity that I have this morning.  I know when I am going through these “hot mess times”, what it is and who is behind it.  I fight and endure it for awhile, but eventually get worn out and that is when it really goes down hill.  Please help me remember that the battle is Yours.  Please help me remember who I am in You.  Please help me see me, my blessings, and my circumstances through Your eyes.

But Because You Say So… | Kim Chipman

S~ Simon answered, “Master, we’ve worked hard all night and haven’t caught anything. But because you say so, I will let down the nets.” Luke 5:5 (NIV)

O~ Jesus was teaching near a lake and there were fishermen there washing their nets from a day of fishing. Jesus told them to go out deep and let out their nets for a catch – the nets they just cleaned – into water they hadn’t caught from all day and night. “But because You say so” they went right back out and let down their nets.

A~ There are so many times when I just get to feeling exhausted by it all. I feel like things aren’t happening fast enough. Whether it’s in ministry, relationships, parenting…shoot, often within MYSELF…things just take too long. I’m sure there have been times I’ve given up on things prematurely because I tried for a long time (in MY mind!) and wasn’t getting results.

“But because You say so” preceded the miracle. If I’m listening to You and Your voice and I do what You say then I will also at least be in position for a miracle. When I bail…notsomuch.

“Simple, not easy” is a megatheme for me. I believe understanding the gospel and following You is…simple, not easy. Eating healthy and taking care of my body…simple, not easy. This verse is yet another…simple, not easy…principle.

But because You say so…

P~ Lord, help me to act simply because You say so! Sometimes I don’t understand, but I don’t need to. I’ll probably witness a lot more miracles if I just do what You say…because You say so. Thank You for Your Word and for this reminder today! I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 22, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

