September 19 Ezekiel 47,48; Luke 2

Check out our reading plans for easy ways to get started! Grab a friend or 2 and dig in!

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My Roots | Kim Chipman

S~ Fruit trees of all kinds will grow on both banks of the river. Their leaves will not wither, nor will their fruit fail. Every month they will bear fruit, because the water from the sanctuary flows to them. Their fruit will serve for food and their leaves for healing. Ezekiel 47:12 (NIV)

O~ Jeremiah 17:7-8 But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lordwhose confidence is in him. They will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.

A~ I want my life to be fruitful. These verses remind me of how essential it is to plant near a water source. The roots are always nourished. That’s what makes the leaves green and the tree fruit bearing. It’s not what you see on top, it’s what happens under the surface, down deep in the roots.

For me, I believe this is my thought life. Unlike a tree that can’t move, my thoughts can quickly blow far away from the riverbank. It is absolutely essential to my fruit bearing that I choose thoughts that “trust in the Lord, whose confidence is in Him”.

Lately, my thoughts have been WAY off track. They have been filled with anxiety, self doubt, shame, fear, and frustration. This is not bearing the fruit I want in my life.  I want the fruit of Your Spirit – love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self control (Galatians 5:22-23)

My thoughts, then, my roots…I must “Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.” Philippians 4:8(NLT). I could also put my thoughts through the love filter. Are my thoughts patient, kind, not envious, not boastful, not proud, not dishonoring to others, not self seeking, not easily angered, not keeping record of wrongs, rejoicing in the truth, always protecting, trusting, hoping and persevering? (1 Cor 13:4-7)

If I put all my thoughts through those 2 filters – Phil 4:8 and 1 Cor 13:4-7 – each thought, take it captive to obey You in these things…my roots would be nourished with living water. My life WILL bear fruit.

P~ What a precious reminder today. I know this, but I’m such a forgetter. My roots matter. When my thought life is out of control then my life does not look like I want it to. Help me to plan the roots of my thoughts on the riverbank of Your life giving water, that I may bear fruit for Your glory. Each thought, captive today. I love You!

Thoughts of Our Hearts | Kelley Deases

S~  “… so that the thoughts of many hearts will be revealed.” Luke 2:35 (NIV)

O~  These words were spoken by Simeon to Mary and Joseph about Jesus. And how true those words are! The Gospel of Luke recounts how Jesus’ earthly parents took their baby to the temple to be consecrated to the Lord. While they were there, they encountered Simeon and then Anna, who both were given spiritual eyes to see the child was of God and would change the course of human history.

A~  It is easy to see how Jesus was able to reveal the true hearts and motives behind those he encountered during his life on earth — from Mary to Peter to the woman at the well to Judas to Pilate and on and on. But He still does the same today. Just the utterance of His Name can elicit scorn, shame, longing, curiosity, hatred or love.

P~  Jesus, You know the “thoughts of [our] hearts.” You also know that at the appointed, every knee will bow and every tongue will confess You are Lord. Work in the lives of the lost and use us, Your chosen children, to turn hearts to You before it is too late.

Piercings of the soul | Nikki Metzger

S~ And a sword will pierce your very soul. Luke 2:35b (NLT)

O~ Mary has gotten the news that she is going to have a baby, delivered Him, and hears this from a prophet named Simeon.  I’m still thinking of Mary’s response when she hears she is going to have the Messiah.  She just offers herself up as the Lord’s servant.

A~ Mary is doing everything right, even her heart is positioned to the Lord.  Yet, Simeon says that a sword will pierce her soul.  It’s dark and twisted and messed up, yet we know it’s true.  Her Son will be pierced on His side, and it will cut Mary’s soul.

I wonder if this life of Mary’s was worth it.  The heartache, the 12 disciples always following her son, the religious leaders trying to kill her baby.

Last night I was reading an old journal, one probably from ten years ago.  There were three prayers echoed on the pages.  God said no to one of those prayers….that was tough!!  And the other two are still the desires of my heart.  I’m still praying those prayers ten years later. My prayers are straight from God’s Word – I’m not praying to win the lottery – I’m praying for God’s promises.  And I feel, in this moment, like a sword has pierced my soul.  Defeated, down, wondering if God sees me, sad, confused. Will I be praying the same two prayers in another ten years?  As I ask God this question, what do I do in the meantime?  Walk away from Jesus, my faith?  Have a pout and stop reading His Word?

James says in James 1:2-8, that I should consider my troubles as an opportunity for great joy.  (What?!)  That right now, my faith is being tested and I have a chance to grow. (Oh….I’m in a growing season.  These are so painful.)  But His ways are higher than my ways.

P~ You are a good, good Father!  Nothing is wasted in Your Kingdom!  Especially not the piercings of our soul.  Thank You for Jesus!  I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 19, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Kim, I LOVE what you wrote today. Such truth, you are so encouraging to so many. There are lots of bowls of fruit around the world because of your roots, don’t let the enemy tell you any different.

Leave a Reply

