September 9 Lamentations 1,2; Obadiah; Revelation 14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. t that must be.  Wake up your church and our government to help these faithful servants gain freedom.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Healing a Prideful Heart | Michelle Myers

S~ You should not march through the gates of my people in the day of their disaster, nor look down on them in their calamity in the day of their disaster.  You should not wait at the crossroads to cut down their fugitives, nor hand over their survivors in the day of their trouble.  The day of the LORD is near for all nations.  As you have done, it will be done to you; your deeds will return upon your own head. Obadiah 13-15 (NIV)

O/A~ I grew up in a family that seemed to take pleasure in other people’s pain and kicking someone when they were already down.  It is just evil, all the way around. First, it just unnecessarily adds to someone else’s pain.  Second, it deceitfully keeps a person focused on someone else in the wrong way (not out of love), so we don’t have to deal with our own junk.  Obadiah 3-4 says, “The pride of your heart has deceived you, you who live in the clefts of the rocks and make your home on the heights, you who say to yourself, ‘Who can bring me down to the ground?'”

This evil and sinful pride is something that You have had to work out of me.  It isn’t completely gone, and probably won’t ever be, as long as I am in this human body. But I can now see it for the evil that it is.  I also know that when I am taking pleasure in someone else’s pain, there is a nerve of insecurity in me that has been touched.  People who are secure in themselves, because they know who they are in You, don’t have to “one up” others, by taking pleasure in their pain.  So, when this happens, I have to figure out what insecure nerve has been touched, where does it come from, and what are the lies that I am believing in regards to it.

I may not be perfect in heart when it comes to this matter, but I am so thankful that I understand that it is wrong.  Many in my family don’t.  I am so thankful that I understand that it has more to do with me. It is about my need to be prideful, in an effort to help me deal with my own insecurities, more than it is about the other person and the pain that they are rightfully or unjustly getting.  Many in my family don’t. I am so thankful that I have this relationship with You, so that I can work through these issues with You.  I want my heart to be more aligned with You.  Many in my family don’t.  I am so thankful that I have a better understanding of the fact, that I can only heal and be healthy for others, if I work through my own “hard stuff”.  Many in my family don’t.

I am so grateful that I, through You and a true relationship with You, am able to understand these concepts better than many in my family.  It is what has helped me heal.  It is what has helped me be a more loving, caring, and humble person, as a friend, wife, mother, daughter, granddaughter, consumer, customer, client, citizen, etc.  It is what has helped many of my relationships heal, go deeper, and become more authentic.

P~ Thank you God for setting me apart from the rest of my family.  I don’t know why, but I do know that it is because of Your grace and mercy that I am not as deceived and blind, as I once was.  Please help me remember who I am in You, and interact with hurting people in a loving and compassionate manner.  I don’t want others to take pride in my struggles and messes; and I don’t want to have a heart that takes pride in theirs.

Patient Endurance | Kelley Deases

S~ This calls for patient endurance on the part of the saints who obey God’s commandments and remain faithful to Jesus. Revelation 14:12 (NIV)

O~  These prophetic words given to John specifically refer to end times events. But this call for “patient endurance” really transcends time and geographical position. In every age, there are serious threats and challenges faced by believers and we must stay the course in following God and keeping His commands.

A~ Keep on keeping on. Doing what I know I should be doing, even when I face resistance or, as is more commonly the case, I don’t feel like it. I am not particularly adept at either of these attributes: patience (waiting on the Lord contentedly and not being anxious for the future) or endurance (diligently pressing forward toward the goal, day after day and mile after mile). Definitely more of a “This is not working so I think I’ll collapse into a pout” kind of girl. And I am not facing anywhere near the global atrocities predicted in Revelation either!

P~  Lord, Daily I come. Or rather, daily I should come. Every day. Every minute. I need Your patience, which is a peace which surpasses all understanding and is so beyond me. I need Your endurance, which reminds me this life is a fleeting vapor compared to the eternity You have promised. With Your help I can patiently endure my circumstance and the come-what-may.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 9, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

