September 5 Ezekiel 25,26,27,28; Revelation 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God-like | Kelley Deases

S~ But you are a man and not a god, though you think you are as wise as a god. Ezekiel 28:2 (NIV)

O~ This prophecy was directed at the King of Tyre who had apparently elevated himself in his own mind to god-like status based on his power and reign. We see a lot of “gods in their own esteem” in 21st century America as well: Celebrities in Hollywood who need their fans to adore everything they do, say, eat, and wear. Politicians who believe they single-handedly hold the key to directing the fate of an entire country. Corrupt police officers who believe they have the right to decide who lives and who dies. Gang leaders who lure fatherless youth into a “family” concerned only with power, territory, and vengeance.

A~ It’s so easy to point fingers at rampant arrogance and selfishness. But how to I show this kind of pride — thinking I am a god, of sorts? I think for me it can look like self-absorption. Thinking all the time about how I feel, what I want, what I don’t like, what I need to get. The God we serve did not create me to be a selfish consumer but in His image as a compassionate giver. And ironically, the more I concern myself with my own happiness, the more it eludes me. But, when I prefer my husband’s needs, my children’s needs, my neighbors’ needs, my community’s needs and sacrificially offer my time and energy, I will find the joy that comes from having God’s heart for others and working as unto the Lord.

P~ Father, Help me to be less about the business of pointing a finger at what is wrong in our world and more about the business of doing my part to make it better by reflecting God’s love.

It Will Take The Sovereign Lord | Michelle Myers

S~ Then they will know that I am the LORD their God. Ezekiel 28:26 (NIV)

O~ This phrase is repeated many times.  Also, God repeatedly references himself as the Sovereign LORD.  I feel as if He is trying with everything He has, to get the people to fully grasp the importance of who He is and to choose Him.

A~ I am currently visiting my grandparents.  I have not seen them in a couple of years, even though they only live a few hours away.   I know that they enjoy seeing me and my family.  I know that there aren’t going to be many visits left with them.  It makes me sad that In their final years, our family has become so disjointed.  However, it is disjointed because of the years of never dealing with the dysfunction.

I don’t think they fully realize how disjointed and dysfunctional our relationship has always been.  Growing up, my mom never had anything good to say about my dad’s side of the family.  They had their problems and dysfunctions, but were the more stable, solid, and rational of the two sides.  I think that made my mom uncomfortable, and she did everything she could to control and poison my dad’s and our relationship with his family.  It was confusing, and I spent many of my adult years trying to figure out what was the truth about this side of the family, and what parts were my mom’s own unhealthy issues.

Eventually, with all of them, YOU showed me what I needed to see….my mom, my dad, my grandparents, my aunts and uncles, my sister, etc.  You showed me where the boundaries need to be, to keep myself healthy, functioning, and focused on You, so I could focus on my own immediate family and continue on with the work that You have given me to do.

You are the Sovereign LORD.  I have to listen to You, and accept the way things are.  You are the Sovereign LORD, if anyone can change them, it is YOU.

P~ Thank you God for this time with my grandparents.  I know that it was provided by You, because it wasn’t forced, financially crippling, or overly inconvenient.  I know my family doesn’t understand a lot of what I do or why I do it.  I know some of that comes from the fact that they didn’t get a front row seat to the craziness of what my sister and I grew up in.  I also know that some of it is because they are blind and in denial about some of their own dysfunction.  Please just help me stay focused on YOU, remember who You are, and help me accept that this is the way it is.  Remind me that You see the whole picture, and know the whole truth. I love ALL my family, but I can’t force them to be healthy people, nor can I sacrifice my own health and my family’s health for them.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 5, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

