September 3 Ezekiel 20,21; Psalms 111; Revelation 8

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

He never fails (! or ?) | Nikki Metzger

S~ Praise the Lord!  I will thank the Lord with all my heart… How amazing are the deeds of the Lord!  Everything He does reveals His glory and majesty.  His righteousness never fails. Psalm 111: 1-3 (NLT)

O/A~ I’m sitting in the waiting room as my little girl is having surgery.  ‘Praise the Lord!  I will thank the Lord with all my heart.’  My heart is pounding out of my chest right now.  Seeing her wheeled into surgery with oxygen on, feeling so nervous….it’s hard for me in this moment to go to thankfulness.

‘Everything He does reveals His glory and majesty.’  Can I be honest right now?  This doesn’t feel like He is revealing glory and majesty in this moment.  My little girl is scared and lonely and nervous and hurting and has a big road ahead of her.

His righteousness never fails

Do I believe this, right now in this ridiculously hard, vulnerable moment?

P~ Father, Your Word says that Your righteousness never fails.  Your ways are higher than my ways.  I trust You!  I believe You, but help me in my belief!

My Amazing God! | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ How amazing are the deeds of the Lord!  All who delight in him should ponder them.  Psalms 111:2  (NLT)

O & A~ God has done and continues to do amazing things.  I want to spend my day pondering on those things instead of worrying.

P~ Father, thank you for all you have done for me and continue to do.  Help me to focus my thoughts on you.

Trust and Follow| Kim Chipman

S~ The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom; all who follow his precepts have good understanding. To him belongs eternal praise. Psalm 111:10 (NIV)

O~ Wisdom comes from You! From reverence for You. Following You is the way to understanding.

A~ I OFTEN feel like I don’t “get it”. I think that’s because I am so focused on trying to figure “it” out myself! What a precious truth this is. The path to wisdom is YOU. It is trusting in Your ways, especially when I don’t get it. I don’t need to get it! I just need to trust and follow. I think my heart knows what it wants right NOW, but wisdom isn’t about just right NOW.

The other day I saw a meme that said “Don’t trade what you want most for what you want right now.” I really believe that Your way is often the road of delayed gratification. I need to make intentional choices. Feed the flesh or feed the Spirit?

P~ Lord, I know Your ways are best! Help me to remember to be intentional, to trust and follow. I love You!

My Idols….The Gross Truth | Michelle Myers

S~ For their hearts were devoted to their idols.  Yet I looked down on them with pity and did not destroy them or put an end to them in the desert. Ezekiel 20:16-17 (NIV)

O/A~ When my daughter was really struggling with her acne, I searched on-line for different solutions.  Along with different products, there were videos of huge blackheads, pimples, and cysts being removed or drained.  I became fascinated with them. With many of the cysts, prior to their removal, I could see how the pressure built up under the skin.  The skin was red and inflamed.  I just looked painful.  Then the dermatologist would apply pressure around it, and all of this gunk would come oozing out.  In some of the videos, people had HUGE blackheads, and they were extracted by first detaching the skin around them, and essentially pulling them out.  Once removed, these people would have a large crater in their skin.

My idols are like those cysts.  They can cause a lot of pressure and pain.  They can rob my peace and joy.  Once all of that gunk starts oozing out, healing starts.  I am sure that there is a lot of YUCK in that ooze that I am not even aware of.  When my unknown gunk starts to come out, You look down on me with pity.  It isn’t the same pity that humans have.  Most of the time, their pity comes from pride and their own gunk.  Your pity comes from a fierce desire to see me spiritually well, and not walking around with a red, inflamed, and painful spirit, that will rob me of peace and joy.

My idols are like huge blackheads.  They are gross and ugly.  Sometimes, it is difficult to detach them from the flesh, so they can be extracted. Once extracted, they leave a large hole, but it is a good hole that will lead to healing and fill up again.  If I let You refill them, they will be healed.  If I try and fill them myself or start letting the world refill them, they will eventually return to being gross and ugly blackheads.

P~ Thank you God for the visual, even if it is pretty distasteful.  It really did help me understand how You see my idols and the impact they can have on my well being….spiritual, physical, and mental.  Please show me what I need to detach from my flesh, so that it can be remove.  Please give me strength, because initially, the hole left behind can be uncomfortable.  Please give me wisdom, as that hole is healing and being refilled.  Help me see what YOU want me to refill it with.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 3, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

