September 1 Ezekiel 15,16; Psalms 70; Revelation 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish. Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at Prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Seeking You … Together | Kelley Deases

S~ But may all who seek you rejoice and be glad in you; may all those who love your salvation always say, “Let God be exalted.” Psalm 70:4 (NIV)

O~ This verse of praise is couched between others in which David cries out to the Lord for help and rescue from his enemies. But here he seeks blessing for those who love the Lord, reminding them to always give Him glory for their joy and salvation.

A~ I am still basking in the glow of the sweet fellowship I enjoyed with my sisters in Christ both Friday morning at the Bible study (SOAP group) I host and again yesterday with our DiscoverOneThing.com blog team. Nothing can compare to the feeling of closeness we share as we read Scripture and pray together and encourage one another through the ups and downs of life.

P~ Father, I thank You again today, as I have thanked You countless times before, that You have brought me amazing, faithful women to journey with through my life.

Humble | Kim Chipman

S~ But as for me, I am poor and needy; come quickly to me, O God. You are my help and my deliverer; Lord, do not delay. Psalm 70:5 (NIV)

O/A~ This is a good heart posture for me. To remember I am poor and needy. This is a humble place. You are my help and my deliverer. Not another person. Not some project. No program.

Just Jesus.

I am poor and needy.

P~ Lord, I love You! My pride often gets in my way. Thank You for the reminder to stay humble and focus on You to be my help! I love You!

Response to sin | Nikki Metzger

S~ My child, if sinners entice you, turn your back on them! Proverbs 1:10 (NLT)

O~ A father is talking to his child about life.

A~ When sin comes up to entice me, I can turn my back.  This seems so simple.  Could this possibly work in the real world, in my life?

If I’m tempted to gossip, how do I turn my back in a conversation?  If I’m in a heated ‘discussion’ with my husband and don’t want to say anything mean in anger, do I turn my back?  When I’m disengaged from life and just want to lay on the couch, how do I turn my back from that and serve like Jesus?

P~ Father, strengthen me to turn my back on sin.  Give me words to speak life instead of speaking words in anger.  Thank You!  I love You!

** Sometimes, the reading plan overwhelms me.  I try to turn to the Proverbs of that day to see if God wants to meet there.  This is what I did today. **

Burnt Wood | Michelle Myers

S~ If it was not useful for anything when it was whole, how much less can it be made into something useful when the fire has burned it and it is charred? Ezekiel 15:5 (NIV)

O~ God is speaking through Ezekiel about the fate of Jerusalem.  They have turned against Him. He describes them as the wood of a vine, which is only good for burning.  Once burned, it is destroyed and not useful for anything else.

A~ Although, I won’t say that I have turned away from You, my connection to You has been staticky lately.  Many of my “activities” that ceased over the summer, have resumed.  I also have the added responsibility of homeschooling my oldest daughter.  Plus, my regular duties as a wife, mother, housekeeper, budget keeper, cook, grocery shopper, etc. have left me struggling to get time with You, and what to do next.

I feel like I am a vine being burned, and I am not really doing any of it well.  Or if I am doing it well, there isn’t calmness and peace in doing it.  After a Facebook message from my aunt, put some added pressure on me (that I did not need), I had a major melt down.

It took two days of processing with You, and some of it, wasn’t “calm, fluffy processing”.  I was angry.  I felt overwhelmed by people’s expectations of me, which I then transferred over into Your expectations of me.  I felt completely misunderstood by my husband, which I then transferred over to Your misunderstanding of me.  All of this left me a mess and wrestling with You.

Eventually, I got down to what I was missing.  You are not people.  You didn’t give me all of these things to do.  You didn’t put all of this pressure on me.  You don’t misunderstand why I do the things that I do.  Often, I do them because You make it impossible for me to do anything else, which I interpret as Your will.

For instance, I did not ask for bed bugs this summer, so I could miss our annual family reunion again.  You allowed me to get them, so I had to deal with them.  Not only did they have a huge impact on my time, but they also put a huge dent in our budget.  So, the comment from my aunt about making sure I stay in touch with and communicate with my grandparents about an upcoming trip to see them, was not necessary, along with all the other jabs I have gotten, like, “I hope you can find your love for family again.”  REALLY??????

So, once I stopped wresting with You, I was able to process through what You were telling me to do, and what I needed to “give up”.  Not everything I was doing, was what You were telling me to do.  I was becoming burnt wood.  Second, I had to go back to the truths that You have shown me.  My family has no concept of what my life is like.  Their participation in it, has been minimal. They have also been in my area for various things, several times, and have not reached out to me.  I have not held that against them.  So, for them to expect me to drive half way across the state to see them, because they want to see me, isn’t really my problem to go out of my way to rectify.  I do what I can, when I can, and that is all I can do.  That is all You are expecting me to do.

I don’t want to be a burnt piece of wood.  I want peace, joy, and zeal.

P~ Thank you God for helping me stay connected enough to You that I didn’t give my aunt a piece of my mind, like I wanted to in that moment.  Please help me stay connected to You.  Please show me what You want me to do, and help me do it.  I know, I am not equipped to do it on my own.  Help me accept my own limitations, even when other people are not understanding or accepting of them.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on September 1, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

