August 31 Ezekiel 12,13,14; Revelation 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Know That I Am The Lord | Kim Chipman

S~  They will know that I am the Lord, when I disperse them among the nations and scatter them through the countries. Ezekiel 12:15 (NIV)

O~ The Lord is sending the Israelites into exile because of their disobedience and idol worship. It is always interesting to me to see how You get people’s attention. Exile and destruction is how You plan to get the Israelites to know that You are the Lord.

A~ When I look back in my own life, though, I see the same pattern. When things were really, really hard is when I got to know You more deeply. Perhaps my pride runs so deep that it takes coming to the end of myself to seek You that way. I don’t love that growth seems to come through discomfort, but I’m thankful that You love me enough not to leave me unchanged. You pursue my heart.

Like the Israelites who worshiped idols, I have my own. Comfort, convenience, pleasure, security…sometimes even fun, food and football. Activity. Production. Order and organization. A sense of control. I like these things. When a wrench gets thrown into my happy I tend to then realize that You are the Lord, and I am not.

P~ Thank You for this richer understanding of suffering. Honestly, I don’t like the method, but I understand and appreciate that You want me to know You more than be comfortable. I see in my heart that often I’d rather be comfortable than know You. Ouch. As I remember that You are The Lord, help me to embrace my weaknesses and choose sacrifice for the privilege of knowing You and walking with You. I love You!

Rampant Violence | Kelley Deases

S~ Say to the people of the land: ‘This is what the Sovereign Lord says about those living in Jerusalem and in the land of Israel: They will eat their food in anxiety and drink their water in despair, for their land will be stripped of everything in it because of the violence of all who live there.’ Ezekiel 12:19 (NIV)

O~  Just this morning I turned on the news to hear the tragic story of a young mother, the cousin of a Chicago Bulls basketball player, who was shot and killed while pushing her newborn baby in a stroller, caught in the crossfire of gang violence in Chicago. (And I just put my firstborn son on a bus heading back to college in Chicago yesterday!) Violence is a major problem on the streets of Chicago.

When we had a foreign exchange student from Brazil in our home, she was always surprised by the news coverage in Omaha where the lead story was a shooting or a murder. She told us that in the poverty-stricken part of the country from which she hailed, homicide was so commonplace it was hardly newsworthy. Her account was confirmed by the media coverage we recently got of the Olympic games in Rio over these past weeks. Violence is a major problem on the streets of Brazil.

Even here, we have become almost numb to the frequent news reports of another shooting in the north part of our city as the gang wars have seemed to escalate there. Violence is a major problem on the streets of North Omaha.

A~ The statistics can be staggering and can leave me with a sense of paralysis at the monumental problem of violence in our world, which was also present in Ezekiel’s time in Israel. I suppose all I can do is be grateful I have been grafted into God’s family and have hope for an eternity with Him which is far beyond all this craziness, trust Him with my tomorrows and the tomorrows of those I love, and dedicate myself, though His power, to being an instrument of peace and love in my home and in my community.

P~ Father, Use me to be a peacemaker in a conflict-ridden world.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 31, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

