August 27 Jeremiah 52; Revelation 1; Psalms 143,144

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Praying for Lori | Joni Tyner

S~ I am losing all hope;

I am paralyzed with fear.

I remember the days of old.

I ponder all your great works

And think about what you have done.

 

Come quickly , LORD, and answer me,

For my depression deepens.

Don’t turn away from me, or I will die.  Psalm 143: 4-5, 7 (NLT)

O~ David is crying out to God in the midst of a hopeless situation, he is very discouraged and depressed. He knows God is faithful and able, yet—in this moment, his circumstances are drowning him and he is close to giving up.

A~ A friend from our life group is very sick and the circumstances are confusing and upsetting.  She woke up in pain on May 19th and went to the ER—she is still in the hospital and has went through several surgeries and setbacks.  As of yesterday, she still was too weak and unstable to even sit up.  It has been over a month since she has eaten and is drifting in and out of consciousness.

My heart is breaking for this sweet servant that loves Jesus.  She was a dedicated volunteer at her church and a devoted wife, mother and grandmother.  It just doesn’t make sense how she could go from her busy life of work and serving others to being so sick.  I don’t understand any of this and when I read Psalm 143 this morning, I could see her laying in that hospital bed and praying this psalm to God. I just can’t get Lori’s grave situation off my mind.  I would greatly appreciate if our Discover One Thing readers would lift Lori up in prayer.  I’m praying for a powerful turn in this situation.

P~ Dear Lord, please shower Your mercy on Lori.  Heal her.  Give her renewed strength as her hope is fading and she is losing her will to fight this mysterious illness.  Please infuse a fresh dose of insight to her doctors and bring answers to why she is so sick.  I pray the medicine will work and she will regain her strength.  Keep her eyes focused on You and numb her to this pain.  I pray for her family, Lord they are weary and exhausted, please instill new strength and energy in them and give them fresh hope.  Father, I know You are good and faithful, I pray that Your glory will be shown in this situation.

Love and Trust | Kim Chipman

S~ Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you. Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. Psalm 143:8 (NIV)

O~ Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God. Ephesians 3:18-19

But I trust in your unfailing love; my heart rejoices in your salvation. Psalm 13:5

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. Psalm 56:3

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers,  neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38-39

Surely God is my salvation; I will trust and not be afraid. The Lord, the Lord himself, is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation. Isaiah 12:2

A~ This is like a breath of fresh air to my soul this morning. Remembering Your unfailing, unconditional, all consuming love for me is so aaaaahhhhhh to my heart. Sometimes I forget. You really want what is best for me. You give me choices…life or death, blessings or curses…you want me to choose LIFE!

AND

I trust You. I have to remind my brain of that sometimes. I. Trust. You. I should follow where You lead. You are my shepherd.

P~ THANK YOU for this today. I love Your Word! I love You!

The battle around us | Nikki Metzger

S~ Praise the Lord, who is my rock.  He trains my hands for war and gives my fingers skill for battle. Psalm 144:1 (NLT)

O~ God’s Word equates believers as warriors.  Ephesians 6 talks about the real war being between God and evil.  And we are warriors with armor on in this battle.

A~ As I get to know my Father more and more, He changes my mind and heart about things.  I’ve always looked at putting on God’s armor as something I do.  It’s in my strength that I carry the shield of faith, and stand firm in His peace.  My sword is as strong as I am in understanding the Word.

But this verse seems to be opposite of what I’ve believed.  The Lord trains my hands.  The Lord gives me the skill for battle.  I don’t have to do anything with the fighting.  The psalm goes on to say that He protects me and He ends up fighting for me anyways by hurling lightning bolts and scattering my enemies.

So I am really out of the equation in this spiritual battle.  Except to submit to the Lord in all this and to praise Him.  Wow!!

P~ Father, thank You for gently showing me that my thoughts about spiritual battle were wrong.  You really do all of it: preparing me to fight, fighting, and protecting me.  Is my job pure submission?  Choosing You over myself?  I don’t know.  I love You!  Thank You for fighting for me!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 27, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. thanks Tara, i’m going to visit her this morning, she is still having a tough time. 😦

Leave a Reply

