August 24 Jeremiah 33,34; Psalms 74; 1 John 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Already Victorious | Tara Wiley

S~ For every child of God defeats this evil world, and we achieve this victory through our faith. And who can win this battle against the world? Only those who believe that Jesus is the Son of God. I John 5:4-5 (NLT)

O~ Great news! As a believer in Jesus, I can win this battle against the world! I AM victorious!

A~ We are currently in a season of spiritual warfare in our family. God is blessing us, blessing our ministry, and expanding our spheres of influence. I’m heading into a schedule change that will free me for increased ministry. I’m also working with a woman who is struggling to get free from some significant spiritual bondage in her life. And there’s an enemy who really doesn’t like that. So I’m getting battle-ready and reviewing the truths that set us free. I’m focusing on worship and prayer and reading Scripture out loud. And the more I focus on Jesus, the Son of God, and remember just how powerful and great He is, the smaller and more insignificant the enemy becomes. And even when things come that I have no control over, like sickness, I can still rejoice that God is greater, and the ultimate victory is sure!

P~ Lord, I pray right now for Your supernatural protection over my family. We are serving You, imperfectly, but with all we know, trusting You to fill in our lack and help us become more like You. God, I confess that I cannot do this ministry thing without Your power. I worship You as the God who reigns supreme and offers victory. Increase my faith! Strengthen our resolve! And may our children follow suit in their focused pursuit of You, with growing faith in Your protection and provision. Thank You that victory is ours through Jesus!

Winning the battle | Nikki Metzger

S~ And who can win this battle against the world?  Only those who believe that Jesus is the Son of God. 1 John 5:5 (NLT)

O~ I have thought this verse before.  I’ve met people in places of dark depression, or people who have all sorts of abuse in their past and nothing helps.  Therapy, medicine, shock therapy.  Those things alone don’t work.  I believe strongly in the world’s treatment of disease and mental health, but truly winning the battle is for those who believe that Jesus is the Son of God.

A~ We fight so many battles in the world.  I fight comfort, laziness, pride, having the last word, being right, trying to make everything perfect, constant achievement, anything that elevates me.  So basically selfishness on an idol-worship level.

I can’t win over that!  And the evil one will capitalize on that selfishness in me if I don’t let Jesus fight for me.  Because I believe that Jesus is the Son of God, I can have victory in this!

I think living in the world causes wounds, some inflicted by ourselves, some inflicted by others.  The wounds from this world are deep, gaping, hemorrhaging wounds.  The world offers a band aid for a fix of the wounds.  Jesus cleans our wounds and heals us from the inside out.

P~ Father, I love You!  Thank You for letting Jesus come to save me and our world!

Be Careful, Little Eyes, What You See | Kelley Deases

S~ We know that we are children of God, and that the whole world is under the control of the evil one. 1 John 5:19 (NIV)

O~ Within this one verse, John touches upon two profound but distinct truths: (1) We are God’s children, which carries with it all manner of implications about how He watches over us and keeps us from harm, how He loves us but also disciplines us. (2) The world we live in is not under the direct control of our benevolent Father, but ruled by one who opposes Him and His children. This explains why we are far from being comfy, cozy, and at home in this place; this is not our home, where our Father is head of the household.

A~ I am trying to discern God’s voice and follow it, despite what the world (news, ads, politicians, secular music, etc.) tries to tell me. But this morning it hit me how much my husband and I allow a lot of worldly junk to enter through the eyes and ears of our young child. Yes, we attend church and send him to a Christian school. But in his free time, he plays a lot of video games and watches a lot of You Tube. And I confess that while he is preoccupied  with those things, I am freed up to work, shop, cook, clean, and even spend my quiet time with the Lord. But at what cost, ultimately, to me and to him, if I am not diligent to censor the voices my son is listening to and following?

P~ Thank You for directing my attention to where I should be directing my attention — on my son, who needs me to teach him and train him and control his environment, not forgetting the evil one has been given dominion over this fallen world.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 24, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

