August 22 Jeremiah 28,29,30; 1 John 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Embracing Today | Joni Tyner

S~ This is what the LORD of Heaven’s Armies, the God of Israel, says to all the captives he has exiled to Babylon from Jerusalem:

Build homes and plan to stay. Plant gardens, and eat the food they produce. Marry and have children. Then find spouses for them so that you may have many grandchildren. Multiply! Do not dwindle away! And work for the peace and prosperity of the city where I sent you into exile.  Jeremiah 29:4-7 (NLT)

O~ God is instructing the people of Judah to embrace their current circumstances, to move forward and make the best of their current situation.   I find it interesting that this is right before Jeremiah 29:11 that many people love.  The scripture about our future—“for I know the plans I have for you”, says the Lord.  “They are plans for a good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”

A~ This struck me  because I’m sort of feeling down about my current life season.  My youngest daughter moved out and went to college and I’m in a season I’d rather skip. If I could write my current life story, I’d be making great memories with my adult kids and maybe playing and loving on grandkids. I wouldn’t choose quiet days and all this alone time with my husband.

This scripture feels like God is saying to me, “embrace this season and use this time to build my “spiritual” home and plant seeds that will in time give a bountiful harvest. “  I shouldn’t be dwindling away my time but using this margin for the building of His Kingdom’s work.    He put me in this season for a purpose, I shouldn’t just be tolerating it while wishfully looking forward to future days.  I need to embrace His current plan for my life.

P~ Dear Lord, please give me fresh energy and enthusiasm for each day.  Help me see purpose in the here and now and pour contentment into my bones.  Thank you for the gift of life, please remove any negative attitudes and replace them with a heart of gratitude.

His plans | Nikki Metzger

S~ For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord.  “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.” Jeremiah 29:11 (NLT)

O/A~ I have clung to this promise many times.  I have shred this promise with many women.  God has plans for us.  They are good plans and include a future and a hope, not disaster.

This promise is usually shared in the disaster part of life to point to the good that is coming.

I want to share this verse with my daughter.  She is out of sports for a whole year and will need surgery due to a recent injury.  Her main thing (sports) just got taken away from her.

I think it would be like me not being able to be a nurse.  Devastating.  Still alive and functioning, but deep grief all around.

P~ Father, please prepare her heart for Your promise of plans for her life.  Plans for a future and a hope, not disaster.  Draw my daughter closer to You during this trial.  Bring her back stronger.  Stronger in You, stronger in physical body, stronger emotionally, stronger in spirit!  Shape her heart into Your heart!  Thank You!  I love You!!

Plans That Prosper | Michelle Myers

S~ ‘For I know the plans I have for you’, declares the LORD, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.’ Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

O~ My plans:

-graduate from college and have a progressive career in the field of education

-get married and live happily, until one of us dies

-have a few dogs

-have a few kids (actually I saw myself with boys)

-own a house

-take a few vacations

-work in the same district until I retire

etc., etc, etc………..

Your plans:

-Well, they have not gone exactly like my plans, nor have they been as pain free and smooth as I envisioned them to be.

A~ I can look back at my plans and realize now, that they did not align with who You created me to be.  There were glimpses of me in there. Enough to lead me in the direction that You wanted me go and learn the lessons that You knew I needed to learn.  When I was fighting with You in regards to fulfilling my plans and being who I thought I should be, I was a miserable mess.  I thought that I knew what was best for me.  I thought I knew what would prosper me.  I thought I knew what would and would not harm me.  My hope was in all the wrong things, and I ended up disappointed time and time again.  I didn’t have an eternal perspective of my future, nor my family’s future.  It was about the here and now, as well as, what was convenient and felt good.

P~ Thank you God for Your good plans for me.  When I am fighting with You, please help me remember Your promises and how they have always been way more fruitful than any thing I have ever planned.  Please help me remember that easy, convenient, and feeling good in the moment, doesn’t equate to pain free, now or in the future.  There is a cost to the choices that we make.  Your way, the cost will eventually lead to prosperity.  My way usually leads to more cost.

The Ultimate Parenting Model | Tara Wiley

S~ Why do you protest your punishment – this wound that has no cure? I have had to punish you because your sins are many and your guilt is great… I will give you back your health and heal your wounds,” says the Lord. Jeremiah 30:15,17 (NLT)

O~ God is a perfect Heavenly Father. He sees His children living in continued, active rebellion. He tries to woo them back with calls to repentance. They do not listen. He then allows them to experience the consequences of their behavior, but with the promise of restoration.

A~ I’m currently reading the parenting book “Love and Logic” as we work towards finding the best strategy for raising our particularly challenging child. This passage in Jeremiah clearly mimics the strategies offered in this book (no, I’m not telling you to go buy it; I’m not getting a kickback. But I can say I’m loving it and loving the response I’m seeing in my daughter!). God’s love is not the type that shields us from the consequences of our misbehavior. Instead, he allows us to feel whatever pain is necessary for growth and restoration. In the same way, I shouldn’t be afraid of or feel terrible about my child’s mistakes. She is learning and growing, and I am learning and growing with her. Together, we can walk towards restoration, not the feel-good kind that comes from a rescue away from consequences, but the true restoration that brings about life change.

P~ Lord, thank You for this vivid reminder in Jeremiah that You are not a helicopter parent. You are also not authoritarian, refusing to allow Your children to make choices, even bad ones. You give us the roadmap and then invite us to choose life. When we blow it, You allow the consequences to speak, even as You bring about restoration through Your love and grace and mercy. Thank you for being a perfect Father. Thank You for modeling the way for me. Help me to confidently mirror You to my kids.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 22, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

