August 20 Jeremiah 48,49; Psalms 67; 1 John 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Humbled! | Michelle Myers

S~ ‘Make her drunk, for she has defied the LORD.  Let Moab wallow in her vomit; let her be an object of ridicule.  Was not Israel the object of your ridicule?  Was she caught among thieves, that you shake your head in scorn whenever you speak of her?  Abandon your towns and dwell among the rocks, you who live in Moab.  Be like a dove that makes its nest at the mouth of a cave.  We have heard of Moab’s pride—-her overweening pride and conceit, her pride and arrogance and the haughtiness of her heart.  I know her insolence but it is futile,'” declares the LORD, ‘and her boasts accomplish nothing.’ Jeremiah 48:26 (NIV)

O~ I read this, and You spoke to my heart about its meaning and what exactly is going on in it. Yet, I started to second guess myself and what I was getting from You, because I am not a Bible scholar.  I understand human nature, people, and relationships way better than I know history, word translations, theology, etc.  So, I started to search the meaning, and after coming across many confusing interpretations, with complicated words, I finally found the one that confirmed what I was getting from You, in plain and simple terms…

“It is an ill thing to mock at the miseries of others, especially such as we have some relation to.” This is Matthew Poole’s (whomever he is) commentary on this verse.  He then goes on to explain Israel and Moabs relationship to one another.

A~ I went to give plasma the other day, and as soon as he walked in, I had recognized him.  He was one of my former students.  He didn’t recognize me at first and couldn’t remember my name. I said, “Mrs. Myers, but you can leave off the Mrs. now and just call me Michelle.”  I didn’t get a chance to really catch up with him, but I noticed a few things, that I seem to look for when I encounter my former students.  He seemed pretty healthy.  He seemed pretty clean.  He had some basic possessions with him..backpack and phone.  He also seemed to be in pretty good spirits….dancing a little as he listened to music and was polite to the workers at the facility.

However, I know that we started this whole plasma thing for very different reasons.  I am not ignorant to the fact that most people don’t go the first time, to “check it out” and support a friend. They NEED money.  It is a resource they need to help them put gas in their vehicle, take the bus, put food on the table, or pay the electric bill.

I am not above all of that.  I have had times in my life, where finances were beyond tight.  I also was blessed with skills, opportunities, and good people to help me through those times.  I was blessed that it never had to become a way of life for me.

I am also not ignorant to the fact that plasma centers are set up in lower income areas for this reason.  Nor am I ignorant to the fact that the financial scales are not equally distributed in this industry.  It is a huge money maker and the people giving, are not reaping the most benefits from it.

As my former student laid next to me giving his plasma, while I gave mine, I was humbled. We come from two very different worlds.  We were there for two very different reasons.  Yet, we had a connection.  We were both human beings, and I was once again honored to be in his presence and get to experience some of his “reality” for a short period of time.   Way more than I would have been humbled or honored to be in the presence of a government official, a movie star, a great athlete, etc.; and experience their lives for a short period of time.

P~ Thank you God for pressing me to go on this particular day.  I really didn’t “feel” like it.  Had I not, I would have missed a wonderful opportunity to see this student.  I will no longer be going. The friend I was going to support, got an yucky infection, my body is so tired afterward, and I need to focus on other things in my schedule.  Yet, as frustrated as I can get sometimes when things don’t go my way, I realize how blessed I am that I get to make the choice to stop going, without worrying about how my kids are going to eat or my bills are going to get paid.  That is Your grace, and I am no more deserving of it than anyone else.  Thank you for that!  Please help me remember and stay humble.

Write This Down | Kelley Deases

S~ We write this to make our joy complete. 1 John 1:4 (NIV)

O~ An annotation in my study Bible explains how writing in the Apostle John’s day required money, time, and effort, much more so than in modern times. But John believed it was well worth it to encourage the early church in their spiritual growth.

A~ This notion resonates with me and is why I contribute to the DiscoverOneThing blog. Most days, to spend some true quiet, alone time with God in His Word requires me to get up at 4:30-5:30 a.m.  After I have read and journaled and tried to glean what God wants to speak to me, I try to block out a bit more time out of my day to type up that note for the blog. This is because I believe there is value in sharing our stories and pointing others toward God’s promises and provision.

This practice is not easy and I have the ever-present temptation to stay in bed and skip my quiet time in favor of more sleep and/or not carve out additional time to type up what I have learned. My selfish self can always justify how I need more rest or there are not enough hours in the day to get everything done. Yet His still, small voice is clear: “Come to Me and I will give you rest and peace and wisdom and perspective. I am the Way, the Truth, and the Life.” And when I do quiet my heart and mind enough to tap into that Source, I want to be a good steward to share what He has provided.

P~ Lord, I feel a kinship to John, Your beloved friend. He had the privilege of walking alongside You and hearing Your stories firsthand, where I must open Your Word to hear from You. But we both came to realize the value of writing down those things You have taught our minds and showed our hearts, not only to solidify those lessons for ourselves but to encourage and build up the body of believers in our own day.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 20, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

