August 19 Jeremiah 45,46,47; Psalms 105; John 21

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Your Strength | Kim Chipman

S~ Look to the Lord and his strength; seek his face always. Psalm 105:4 (NIV)

O~ Isaiah 40:28-31 Do you not know?
    Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
    the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
    and his understanding no one can fathom.
He gives strength to the weary
    and increases the power of the weak.
Even youths grow tired and weary,
    and young men stumble and fall;
but those who hope in the Lord
    will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.

A~ So, a couple days ago I heard Your voice – turn now. As I digested that the other verse that was impressed on my mind and heart was “choose today whom you will serve.”

Today I choose to look to You and seek Your face. I need Your strength to continually do this. I know it is available to me, I need to get my thoughts focused on You and Your strength. So often I just see my limitations. But in this journey of nourishing my mind and my body so my soul is healthy…I can remember Your strength. Seek Your face. Not my comfort or needs\desires in the moment. That’s what got me here.

I hear You. Turn now…seek You and Your strength.

P~ Thank You for Your Word! I cannot do this alone. I need You. I love You!

Serenity, Courage and Wisdom | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ Are you seeking great things for yourself?  Don’t do it!  But don’t be discouraged. Jeremiah 45:5 (NLT)

O~ Baruch worked for Jeremiah and Jeremiah was not popular at all; the people didn’t like him because they didn’t like the truth he was sharing with them.  Baruch said, “I am overwhelmed with trouble! Haven’t I had enough pain already? And now the Lord has added more!  I am weary of my own sighing and can find no rest (verse 3)

The notes in my bible:

Baruch had long been serving this unpopular prophet, writing his book of struggles and judgments, and now he was upset.  God told Baruch to take his eyes off himself and whatever rewards he thought he deserved.  If Baruch did this, God would protect him.  It is easy to lose the joy of serving our God when we take our eyes off him.  The more we look away from God’s purposes toward our own sacrifices, the more frustrated we will become.  As you serve God, beware of focusing on what you are giving up.  When this happens, ask God’s forgiveness; then look at him rather than at yourself.

A~  This spoke to me as I have noticed that lately I feel a lack of joy and it becomes easy to look at others’ lives and want other things for myself rather than what I have, then jealousy, discontent and discouragement all come and join me.  This verse shows me the cure—to keep my eyes and thoughts on God.  If something doesn’t feel right in my life I need to look to him and ask him for the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.

P~ Father, please forgive me for turning from you, for being discontent.  You have a purpose and plan for my life.  Please help me to do better with the portion you have given me.  Please give me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I need to change and the wisdom to know the difference.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 19, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

