August 13 Jeremiah 13,14,15; John 15

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Cling to God | Nikki Metzger

S~ These wicked people refuse to listen to Me.  They stubbornly follow their own desires and worship other gods.  Therefore, they will become like this loincloth – good for nothing!  As a loincloth clings to a man’s waist, so I created Judah and Israel to cling to Me, says the Lord.  ~ Jeremiah 13:10,11a (NLT)

O~ God is using a falling-apart loincloth and comparing it to His people.  A loincloth was designed to cling, just like God’s people were designed to cling to Him.  God says that when the design of clinging to Him isn’t happening, that’s good for nothing!

A~ I just need this reminder today!  When I’m not clinging to the Lord, everything I produce or say or do is good for nothing!  I’m having days were I will do, do, do and really not think about the Lord.  I’m stubbornly following my own desires and wisdom and not seeking Christ out.

P~ Father, why do I keep stepping out in my own wisdom and desires?  It just produces turmoil in my heart and life and relationships.  Please forgive me!  Teach me to cling to You; deeper, longer, and to not stop clinging.  I love You!!!!  Thank You for Your Word!

Bearing Fruit | Kelley Deases

S~ This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples. John 15:8 (NIV)

O~ To please Our Father and to make Him known, we are to bear fruit. But the beauty (and irony) involved in fruit-bearing is that God really does the heavy lifting. He creates opportunities, opens doors, changes hearts, gives words, directs steps and nudges His people. Our part is simply to get our marching orders as we quiet our hearts and minds before Him and read His Word, and then to be sensitive to His priorities and His leading as we traverse through our days. He’ll take care of the rest.

A~ I want to be shown to be His disciple as I bear fruit. Hopefully every day, even in some small way, I can extend grace, show love, put another’s needs above my own, be a cheerful giver, serve my fellow man and smile when I may want to scowl.

P~ Father, Empower me by Your Spirit to bear fruit — love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control — so You will be glorified in it.

Obedience…Love…JOY | Tara Wiley

S~ I have told you these things so that you will be filled with my joy. Yes, your joy will overflow! This is my commandment: Love each other in the same way I have loved you. John 15:11-12 (NLT)

O~ In this passage, Jesus draws together obedience…love…and JOY. When I obey Him, living the way He calls me to live, and in doing that love Him… When I love others the way He loves me… I can have joy. Even when it’s hard. Even when I’m exhausted. Even when the people I love are difficult. Even then.

A~ When parenting threatens to undo me, especially when my level of reserves is low and my daughter’s level of misbehavior is high, even then, I can have joy. Not because it’s easy. It’s not. Not because it’s fun. Nope, no way. I can have joy because I am obeying God’s command to love her the way He loves me. I can obey God’s calling in my life to be a Godly mother, to train her in the way she should go. So when it gets really hard, and the confrontations are so challenging, I can step back, breathe, and rest in Jesus. And in that place, when I remind myself of His truth – when I put HIS Word on repeat in my mind – then I can have that deep-heart joy that nothing can steal, no matter the end result of these temporal struggles. MY call is to obey Him, not to manipulate or take personally the choices of those around me. MY call is to reflect Him. MY call is to love, and leave the rest to Him.

P~ Lord, it’s been a really, really hard week. I have a little girl who is really angry right now, angry that I left her last week (I went on a work trip), and she’s making sure I know it. I don’t know how long this season will last… and change is coming, with the school year starting, which can trigger another season of rebellion. God, You know. You know how this is stretching me so thin when my schedule is already so full. I am doing all I know to do, Lord. I am tired, and tearful, and I need Your help to keep perspective and press on with joy. These are training grounds, Lord, for both her and me. Help me to rest in You. Remind me of Your truth – yes, put it on repeat in my mind! I will obey. I will love. And I will leave the rest to You – which will leave me with peace and joy. Thank You, Lord, for Your Word and Your promises. You are faithful! I believe it!

Share Jesus | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But I will send you the Counselor—the Spirit of truth.  He will come to you from the Father and will tell you all about me.  And you must also tell others about me because you have been with me from the beginning.  John 15:26, 27 (NLT)

O~ The Holy Spirit tells me about Jesus and what I learn about Jesus I need to share with others.

A~ I get caught up in the sharing part.  This verse says I “must” also tell others about Jesus. So I feel this pressure, but I’m sure I am making more out of it then what it is.

P~ Holy Spirit, thank you for telling me about Jesus.  Help me to tell others what Jesus has done for me.  Please provide opportunities to share and help me not panic, but share.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 13, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

