August 12 Jeremiah 10,11,12; John 14

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My Scarlet and Cream Idols | Michelle Myers

S~ For the customs of the peoples are worthless; they cut a tree out of the forest, and a craftsman shapes it with his chisel.  They adorn it with silver and gold; they fasten it with hammer and nails so it will not totter. Jeremiah 10:3-4 (NIV)

O~ Keeping everything in perspective can be difficult, even when I am not really that impressed with silver and gold.

A~ I am not an Olympic junkie.  My husband is, and watches it whenever he can.  For me, it is over done and too showy.  Prior to the Olympics starting, I watched a special on the cost of hosting the Olympics in different cities.  It is crazy!  Even crazier, is that most of the buildings and accommodations made specifically for the Olympics is left abandoned and not used at all, following the conclusion of them.

My perspective about holidays has changed over the years.  Thanksgiving isn’t so much about the food.  Christmas isn’t about the fancy decorations or the presents.  It is more about thanking You for what I have, serving, honoring and celebrating You.  It is about spending time with and enjoying the fact that my family is together.

So, as I am thinking about how much progress I have made in keeping worthless customs in perspective, You reminded me that football season is about to start.  Yep, nothing like the reminder of my kids commenting on how crazy I can get when the Huskers play, to cause me to humble myself and remember that I have my own issues with keeping the things of this world in perspective.  It isn’t adorned with silver and gold, more like scarlet and cream.

P~ Thank you God for helping me keep a true perspective of my own issues.  Often, the same things that impress many people, are not the same things that impress me.  This can lead to a false sense of pride.  Please just keep reminding me that I am not immune to the ways and things of this world. Please keep showing me and helping me work on my own idols.

Gifts from God | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ I am leaving you with a gift—peace of mind and heart.  And the peace I give isn’t like the peace the world gives.  So don’t be troubled or afraid.  John 14:27 (NLT)

O & A~  Jesus left me with a gift, peace of mind and heart (one of so many things he’s done for me).

P~  I will trust you and rest in you. Thank you for loving me so much. You give me so much just because you love me.  Thank you ❤

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 12, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

