August 9 Jeremiah 3,4; John 11

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Love and God’s Glory | Nikki Metzger

S~ So although Jesus loved Martha, Mary, and Lazarus, He stayed where He was for the next two days.  ~ John 11:5-6 (NLT)

O~ Jesus heard Lazarus was sick, but He didn’t go visit right away.

A~ Lazarus ends up dying and Jesus shows up four days later during the funeral time.  Jesus stayed where He was and let Lazarus die!  But Scripture tells us that He loved Lazarus.  It doesn’t make sense though, why did Jesus let Lazarus die?

In the moment of of Lazarus’ death, I’m sure Mary and Martha felt overcome with grief.  A sadness that was too unbearable.  In the moment, I’m sure they didn’t feel loved by Jesus.  I mean, He never showed up to save Lazarus from death.

Jesus ALWAYS loves.  It’s who He is.  And God will always be glorified.  Suffering: mine, or Mary and Martha’s….it’s not from a place where Jesus is mad or angry – He is loving me.  And ultimately, God will be glorified.

The suffering of watching Lazarus be sick, dying, and dealing with his death was probably horrible for Mary and Martha.  But Jesus never stopped loving them during the suffering.  And Jesus didn’t intervene right away because he knew that God would get much glory through the raising of Lazarus.

P~ Father, suffering is horrible!  I hate going through suffering!  I hate watching loved ones walk through it!  Thank You for Your Word!  For reassuring me – that love reigns, even in the the midst of suffering.  And that You will always be glorified through that in time.  I don’t always understand – but I trust You!

**  I wrote this post, when I was done, felt so comforted by the Spirit in having a better understanding of suffering.  I’m not kidding, 15 minutes after I wrote this, I got a phone call from my husband saying that my daughter badly injured herself on the basketball court.  Through his experience, he thought it was a torn ligament, usually ending a sports season and getting a surgery.  You guys, basketball is top priority for my daughter, as I was driving her to the emergency room, I don’t know if her tears were from pain or from knowing that her season was over before it started.  The girl is suffering and going to suffer.  But I had a peace in the emergency room and was able to share with her what the Lord had shared with me about suffering, just an hour earlier!  God is crazy good and He loves us way more than we know….and everything will be used for His glory!!

Redefining Amazement | Michelle Myers

S~ The dead man came out, his hands and feet wrapped with strips of linen, and a cloth around his face. John 11:44 (NIV)

O~ I think this is exciting and amazing.  In no way, shape, or form can it compare to the silly thrills, I can easily find myself searching for in our culture.  When I was younger, the next great vacation, amusement park, purchase, year completed in school, etc.

A~ Last week I accompanied a friend who was giving plasma for the first time.  That was an adventure for me, as I had also never given it before.  She needed the money, because she is in between jobs.  I was just curious, wanted to be supportive of her, and was looking for something that would give me a break from my two girls.

I figured, if it didn’t go well, I just wouldn’t do it again.  However,  I actually enjoyed it.  The money is nice, but beyond that it is the fact that I am giving something that is used to help other people all over the world.  The fact that I can routinely give something my body is already producing to help improve the lives of other people, is amazing to me.  That all comes from You!  It is also a pretty quiet procedure, where nobody is asking me what they can have for lunch, if I can give them a ride somewhere, etc.  It is just a time for me to give and connect with You.  The money is just an added benefit.

P~ Thank you God for providing me with this opportunity.  I probably never would have started doing this on my own.  I pray that my plasma can be used to help people live healthier, more fulfilling lives and that they would recognize this as a gift from You.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 9, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

