August 8 Jeremiah 1,2; John 10

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Not My Mini-Me | Michelle Myers

S~ The word of the LORD came to me, saying, ‘Before I formed you in the womb I knew (or chose) you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.’  Jeremiah 1:4-5 (NIV)

O~ None of us were mistakes.  None of us just happened.  We all have been chosen by God, and given a purpose in this life.

A~ This scripture give me a lot of comfort when I think about the broken relationship I have with my own parents, and how I never seemed to be able to measure up to their expectations.  It also helps me remember who my own children really belong to.  When I find myself planning my children’s futures, frustrated with some of the skills they do or do not have, or squinting my nose at something they like; I have to remember that YOU made them to serve You and be the people You created them to be.  They were never meant to be my little “mini-me”.

The same thing goes for my husband, and thank you for that!  Otherwise, we would both be looking at the computer, trying to figure out how to run the thing.  We both would be lost a lot, because neither of us would have any sense of direction.  We both would be afraid to write, because our grammar and punctuation skills weren’t up to snuff.  Basically, life would be a lot harder, because our individual personalities, characters, and skills balance us out.

P~ Thank you God for being the parents I wish I had on earth.  Thank you for helping me see and understand that You created me, and I was meant to be the person You created.  There is freedom in that!  Please help me remember this, when my children and husband are being the people You created them to be.

Just Obey | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ “O Sovereign Lord, “ I said, “I can’t speak for you!  I’m too young!”

Don’t say that,” the Lord replied, “for you must go wherever I send you and say whatever I tell you.  Jeremiah 1:6, 7 (NLT)

O & A ~  What reasons do I have for not being able to do or say what God wants me to (fear, mostly fear of failure, fear of not having the right words, fear of looking dumb).  But I want to (and need to) instead focus on God and who he is and it’s his plan anyway so he will make it happen and let me not forget that he already knows all those things about me and he is asking me anyway (he must see something I don’t).

P~  Father, please forgive me for following my fear.  Help me to have courage to do what you call me to do.

Intimate and Secure Love | Vicki Burns

S~ My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow Me. I give them eternal life, and they shall never perish; no one can snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all; no one can snatch them out of my Father’s hand. I and the Father are One.  John 10:27-30  (NIV)
O~ The sheep of the Shepherd listen to His voice. They share an intimate closeness because He has known them from the beginning of time, Jeremiah 1:5. AND they obey in following Him. His sheep have eternal life because He gives it to them…now. It is a new life with elements of the eternal glory to come woven into the here-and-now. It is a life empowered by the Holy Spirit sent to comfort, correct and guide His treasured possession. Deeply known, loved and empowered, the sheep are inseparable from the Shepherd. They cannot be snatched out of the hands of Christ who bought them with His blood, nor can they be snatched out of the hands of the Father. Both hold fast to their treasure, their sheep. I had never seen that before. Both the Father and the Son have their hands on the listening, known, loved and empowered obedient sheep. Father and Son are united in their concern for us.
A/P~ I hear You Lord. Help me hear You better. I am trying to get more comfortable with how intimately You know and love me. Help me surrender completely and to joyfully follow in Your footsteps. I have nothing to fear with the hands of my Father and blessed Savior holding me. I want to dance in Your presence forever.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

 

 

Posted on August 8, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

