August 4 2 Kings 22; 2 Chronicles 34; John 6

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

My Heart | Kim Chipman

S~ Because your heart was responsive and you humbled yourself before God when you heard what he spoke against this place and its people, and because you humbled yourself before me and tore your robes and wept in my presence, I have heard you, declares the Lord. 2 Chronicles 34:27 (NIV)

O~ Josiah is king and he is earnestly seeking the Lord. He purged Jerusalem of the high places and idols and purified the land. Then he repaired and renovated the Temple. While they were rebuilding they found the book of the law. When Josiah heard what was written in it he tore his clothes in despair because he realized they had not been obeying the Lord. “We have not been doing everything this scroll says we must do.”

My study Bible says: “It is human nature to treat sin lightly – to make excuses, blame somebody else, or minimize the harm done. Not so with Josiah. He was so appalled at the people’s neglect of the law that he tore his clothing to express his grief. True understanding of our sins should lead to “sorrow” that “leads us away from sin” (2 Cor 7:10). Are you always excusing your sin, blaming others, and pretending that it’s not so bad? God does not take sin lightly, and He wants us to respond with true remorse as Josiah did…When Josiah read the book that Hilkiah discovered (34:14), he responded with repentance and humility and promised to follow God’s commands as written in the book. The Bible is God’s word to us, “alive and powerful” (Hebrews 4:12), but we cannot know what God wants us to do if we don’t read it. And even reading God’s Word isn’t enough; we must be willing to do what it says. There is not much difference between the book hidden in the Temple and the Bible hidden on the bookshelf. An unread Bible is as useless as a lost one.”

A~ Sigh. Big reminder: You were pleased with Josiah’s heart. Because he humbled himself and repented he allowed Josiah to avoid disaster and live in peace. Once he knew better he DID better. This seems so basic, so simple. Read Your Word, do what it says, humble myself and…PEACE. Your message is NOT complicated to understand, but so many things pull at me and tempt me and lure me away from the DOING.

P~ Help me to focus! To return to You. To continually humble myself. To take my sin seriously! Stop justifying and minimizing. Like Josiah, choose to respond humbly. I need Your power to do this well. I love You!

You Already Have it Figured Out! | Michelle Myers

S~ When Jesus looked up and saw a great crowd coming toward him, he said to Philip, ‘Where shall we buy bread for these people to eat?’  He asked this only to test him, for he already had in mind what he was going to do. John 6:5-6 (NIV)

O~ Jesus ends up feeding about five thousand people with five small loaves of bread and two fish.

A~ How many times have I looked at my circumstances, and by the looks of them, thought doom and gloom was near.  That thinking used to rule my life and consume my days.  However, it doesn’t anymore.  Yet, I am not immune to it, and I am not sure if I will ever be, as long as I am on this earth.

Sometimes, I am more shocked at how much I haven’t let a situation get the best of me.  Other times, I am surprised at what situations still do consume my thoughts, when they occur.  Although my faith has grown, I am still not where I need to be.  Clearly, those times when something is getting the best of me, it is a lack of faith.  Sometimes, I forget that You already have in mind what You are going to do.  There are also times, when I know You “have this”, but I am angry or afraid of the pain and uncomfortable feelings, that I have to endure to get me where I need to be.  The funny thing is, afterwards, I am thankful for it and the growth.

P~ Thank you God for never giving up on me, even if I act like a child throwing a tantrum versus a child of the ONE TRUE KING.  Please help me remain stable, strong, and secure; remembering who You are, when I am in the middle of enduring a difficult situation.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 4, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

