August 3 Nahum 1,2,3; John 5

We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Jesus Brings Hope | Joni Tyner

S~ One of the men lying there had been sick for thirty-eight years. When Jesus saw him and knew he had been ill for a long time, he asked him, “Would you like to get well?”

“I can’t, sir,”  the sick man said, “for I have no one to put me into the pool when the water bubbles up. Someone else always gets there ahead of me.”

Jesus told him, “Stand up, pick up your mat, and walk!”   John 5:5-8  (NLT)

O~ 38 YEARS.  This man laid near the pool watching other people go ahead of him for 38 years.  This man encountered Jesus and told him that he couldn’t be healed because no one would put him into the pool.  His situation was completely hopeless.  The Creator of the everything—the Creator of the pool he wanted to get into, asked him if he would like to get well and his answer was it was impossible, he said, “I can’t.”  He honestly didn’t believe that his situation could be different.  This man also believed the reason he couldn’t get well was because other people didn’t help him.

A~ I see Jesus willing and even seeking out this man to help him.  Jesus asked him to “stand up, pick up your mat, and walk.”  I find it interesting that Jesus healed him in a different way than the man thought he should be he healed. (the man thought he needed to get into the pool, he thought he needed other people to help him be healed.)   I am reminded that God’s ways are not my ways and He expects me to participate in the process of a miracle by being obedient and receptive to His teaching.

P~ Dear Lord, I can get discouraged by the slowness of change and I know I am guilty of blaming others why there hasn’t been change.  Please forgive me and help me to look to You instead of circumstances that discourage me.   I want to be a person that is always seeing miracles around me. Help me to see hope in a situation instead of negativity.  I know You are a good God.

My Stinky, Joy Sucking | Michelle Myers

S~ At once the man was cured; he picked up his mat and walked.  The day on which this took place was a Sabbath, and so the Jews said to the man who had been healed, ‘It is the Sabbath; the law forbids you to carry your mat.’ John 5:9-10 (NIV)

O~ There was an invalid, who lay by a pool for 38 years…..38!  When Jesus comes by and sees him, he questions him on why he is lying there and if he really wants to get well. Jesus tells him, “Get up!  Pick up your mat and walk.”  (John 5:8)  So, the man does.  He is healed.  Then the stinky, joy suckers come along and miss the entire shock and awe of the situation.

A~ A man, who had not been able to move for 38 years, was walking.  That is awesome!  That is amazing!  That is YOU!  Who REALLY cares what day of the week it took place on?

I am left wondering about myself, as a stinky, joy sucking rule follower that misses much of Your awesomeness, amazement, and wonder.  I know at times, when it comes to my kids, my busyness, my motherly focus, my structure, etc. can be stinky, joy sucking to them.  I am too focused on the task.  I am too focused on the worldly life lesson that is being taught, that will help them be successful adults.  I know more than once, they have tried telling me a story or showed me something, and they walk away disappointed.  I wasn’t fully focused on them.  I didn’t see the same awe and amazement in it they did.  I was too busy cooking, cleaning, grocery shopping, etc.

My 13 year-old went grocery shopping with me the other day.  While headed in the direction of the base, we saw planes practicing for the air show the next day.  She thought it was pretty cool.  We got a shake, sat in the car at the grocery store parking lot, and just watched them practice.  She was in awe and amazement.

P~ Thank you God for that little moment with my youngest daughter. Please help me slow down enough to hear them, see them, and experience the things they want me to experience in their lives. Please help me know how to balance my time with them, so it is just enough and not too much. Otherwise, they get annoyed with me and the activity.  I get annoyed with them and their complaining and whining.

Intentionality | Tara Wiley

S~ Very truly I tell you, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be judged but has crossed over from death to life. John 5:24 NIV

O~ “This person has taken a giant step from the world of the dead to the world of the living.” MSG

I used the Strong’s numbers from www.blueletterbible.org to find the verses that share the same Greek verb translated above as “crossed over” in the NIV. Every time the verb is used, it signifies a move with intentionality. It’s used often to describe Jesus moving from one place of ministry to another, and once is used to describe the removing of an obstacle through the authority of prayer (Matthew 17:20). John uses it again in I John 3:14: “We know that we have passed from death to life, because we love each other. Anyone who does not love remains in death.” I love this use of the verb because not only does it say we have made an intentional move (or, if you want to get technical, God has intentionally moved us) when we are saved, but that intentional move leads us to make other intentional moves in our lives. There’s a progression: we hear (passive), we believe (intention on our part), he moves us/crosses us over (intention on God’s part), we change (intention on both God’s and our part!). Now, if you’re really into theology, this could become a dicey argument – when is it God’s move? When is it ours? But theology aside, the core truth remains: we have been actively, intentionally saved, and it leads us to an active, intentional new way of life.

P~ Lord, thank You for the gift of salvation! It’s such a mystery! And so incredible. I am so grateful that You, through Your sacrifice, paved the way to move me forward, a giant step from the world of the dead to the world of the living. And now that I’m here, living in Your way, I have the opportunity to respond with greater intention each day. I don’t just want to talk about it, Lord. I want to live it out. Intentionally. Full of life because of You! Full of purpose. Full of opportunity – let me take each one to intentionally invest in Your life-kingdom.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 3, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

