August 2 2 Kings 21; 2 Chronicles 33; John 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

In Spirit and Truth | Michelle Myers

S~ God is spirit, and his worshipers must worship in spirit and truth.  John 4:24 (NIV)

O/A~ I had a conversation recently with my husband about this very thing.  I have seen him grow in his spiritual relationship with You, and applying it to his everyday life.  Yet, listening to Your truth, and accepting it, can be equally as difficult in my walk with You.  Like I used to do, he searches through on-line posts, sermons, etc. to hear different perspectives from different people.  He wants a better understanding.  However, when I would do that, I usually ended up confused, because most people don’t agree on Your truth.  To me, searching for Your truth in regards to my life, my circumstances, my character, and my heart is just as important as worshiping You in the spirit.  You know every good, bad, and ugly thing about me.  If I am not careful, I will hear other people’s opinions on what is good, bad,and ugly about me; and not necessarily what You think is.

P~ Thank you God for Your truth.  Without it, I feel like a puppet being pulled in several different directions, with an overwhelming number of things to work on, in regards to myself.  I feel like I will never measure up to other people’s expectations.  Please just help me worship You in my spirit, by hearing and paying attention to Your truths.  Because the honest truth is, You are really the only one that matters.

Ripe | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  Do you think the work of harvesting will not begin until the summer ends four months from now?  Look around you!  Vast fields are ripening all around us and ready for the harvest now.  John 4:35  (NLT)

O~  There are people all around ready.  Ready to know Jesus, ready to come home.

A~  I need to be about my father’s work.

P~  Father please prepare me, prepare my heart to bring the lost soul to you where we all belong.

Forward in Faith | Tara Wiley

S~ “Go,” Jesus replied, “your son will live.” The man took Jesus at His word and departed. John 4:50

O~ The man took Jesus at his word and departed. He simply believed Jesus would do what He said He would do, and he stepped out in faith to see the work done. His faith was rewarded – the child was healed at the instant Jesus spoke these words (verses 52-53).

A~ Do I live with the confidence of this kind of faith? Do I believe Jesus will do what He said He would do in me – ALL of it, beginning with total and complete salvation apart from anything I have done or will do (Ephesians 2, John 3:16-17)? Do I live in such a way that demonstrates total faith that He WILL equip me for every good work He prepared beforehand for me to do (Ephesians 2)? Do I refuse to worry because I believe that God knows the things I need, and what my loved ones need, and He is working on providing, so I can just focus on seeking Him and His kingdom while He takes care of the rest (Matthew 6)? Do I take Him at His Word, and go?

The most revolutionary changes in my life come when I remember God’s promises and take them as my own. Jesus has taken me out of the deepest pits armed with the pick axe of His Word and the strength of His presence. I know He keeps His promises (it may not always look the way I think it should, or come on my timetable, but He is faithful to accomplish what He needs to do in the way He needs to do it). So why do I let fear and anxiety creep in and steal my confidence, my joy? I am encouraged by the 365 “Do not fear” passages in the Bible. God knew this fear-fight would be a daily challenge for some of us. So He gave us 365 reminders to have faith and step forward. Every day presents a Jesus-encounter for me like the one this royal official had. He was afraid for his child. He was at the end his rope. He needed a miracle. Jesus promised one. He took Jesus at His Word. He walked forward – what a long walk home that must have been!  And when he returned home, he was able to revel in the power of Jesus’ word for him and his child. What joy! I’ve lived in that place before. I want to step forward into this next season of faith-adventure with the same confidence.

P~ Lord, I want this simple, confident faith, not just sometimes, but all the time. I want to wake up in the morning ready to step forward into whatever that day may hold, knowing You are taking care of all the details – even the ones I might forget – and can use even whatever failure I might manage to royally achieve to Your glory, so I just don’t need to fear! I want to lie down in bed at night, and when the concerns come to the front of my mind, to simply lay them at Your feet and rest. I want to cease striving in the heat of battle, to be still and watch You fight. To stand firm. To be strong and courageous. To follow hard after You and bring along behind me an incredible harvest of people who follow hard after You. Oh, Lord, I want a faith so huge that nothing shakes me! Thank You for the way You have increased my faith over the years. I want more! Oh Jesus, let me be confident in You, like this royal official. And in that place of deep confidence, open my eyes to see Your miracle-work in each day.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 2, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

