August 1 Isaiah 65,66; Psalms 62; John 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Shaken No More | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  He alone is my rock and my salvation, my fortress where I will not be shaken.  My salvation and honor come from God alone.  He is my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.  Psalm 62:6, 7 (NLT)

O~  God is my rock, he is my refuge, he is a fortress where I will not be shaken.

A~  I don’t feel steady lately.  I feel like I’m going in so many directions…in you I can be steady and not shaken.  You are my refuge where I can be strengthened for what lies ahead.

P~  Father, help me with what lies ahead.  Help me not fear, but instead trust and rest in you, for you are my refuge, a rock where no enemy can reach me.  Thank you.

Break Me | Kim Chipman

S~ These are the ones I look on with favor: those who are humble and contrite in spirit, and who tremble at my word. Isaiah 66:2 (NIV)

O~ For this is what the high and exalted One says—he who lives forever, whose name is holy: “I live in a high and holy place, but also with the one who is contrite and lowly in spirit, to revive the spirit of the lowly and to revive the heart of the contrite. Isaiah 57:15

humble = subdued in Spirit, submissive

of contrite spirit = a spirit that is broken, crushed, or deeply affected by sin

tremble at my word = reverence for God

A~ There’s a reverence for God and a seriousness of sin that I think I’m missing. I’ve forgotten. I’m great at justifying stuff, but I want Your favor more than my comfort. I do. I need to choose humble trembling.

P~ Lord, break my heart for what breaks Yours. Help me to remember who You are and who I am in You. Help me to not be lukewarm or complacent! Revive my heart. I need You! I love You

More God, Less Me | Kelley Deases

S~ He must become greater; I must become less. John 3:30 (NIV)

O~ John the Baptist is speaking to his followers, who informed him Jesus was baptizing people and people were flocking to Him. John did not respond in outrage or jealousy, but great joy in knowing Christ was about the business of doing His ministry and changing lives and eternities.

A~ To the degree I ask God to invade an area of my life and fill that space, and to the degree I humbly submit my will and my way, God will do what only He has the power and the wisdom to do.

P~ Father, Let this be my mantra: “You increase, I decrease,” so Your ways can prevail in and through my life.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on August 1, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

