July 31 Isaiah 63,64; Psalms 107; John 2

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

God Helps | Luisa Penaherrera

S~  “Lord, help!” they cried in their trouble, and he rescued them from their distress.  Psalms 107:6, 13, 19, 28  (NLT)

O~  The psalmist speaks of several situations people found themselves in in their lives – some because of choices they made – and in each situation they came to a place where they cried out, “Lord, help!” and “he rescued them from their distress.”

A~  Whatever I am facing, God will help me. I need to cry out to him for help.

P~  Father, this transitioning is hard for me.  Help my heart to be still and patient in your timing.  Help me to find joy in the now of the journey.  I trust you.

Adjusting My Focus | Kelley Deases

S~ Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for men.  Psalm 107:8 (also found in verses 15, 21, 31) NIV

O~ This is a beautiful psalm of praise and thanksgiving. The psalmist describes many of the various plights and struggles we may have found ourselves in, but how the Lord sees, saves, and delivers us out of them. For this saving work, we should have a posture of gratefulness as we remember where we were and where we are now.

A~ I have a bad habit of getting laser-focused on the negative and ignoring all the good. And it seems until the argument is resolved, the appliance is repaired, the issue is put to bed, or worse yet, I get focused on another negative distraction, I cannot see all the amazing blessings I have all around me. My husband told me this exact thing yesterday, as I was in a pout over a small spat between us. He urged me to see all the great things I enjoy and not to caught up in the “speck of bad.” I couldn’t snap out of it just then, but this morning, as I hear the same sentiment repeated in Your Word, I get it: When I view the big picture — what really matters — my life is chock full of blessings for which I should be grateful and joyful. Just because “the Bible tells me so.”

P~ Jesus, Thank You for a reality check this morning to help me orient my day. I am truly blessed beyond measure and it is wrong that I fail to respond with joy and praise to all Your Hand has provided. I am getting a clear picture of how my sour grumbling is out of place and inappropriate in view of Your lavish generosity to me.

God Distinguishes the Called | Vicki Burns

S~ We are Yours from of old; but You have not ruled over them, they have not been called by Your name. Isaiah 63:19 (NIV)

O~ We who truly believe, have always been His; “from of old.” Jeremiah 14:9 says, “You are among us, O LORD, and we bear your name.”

We are His…not perfect, not even close. But, we are His…”from of old.” Our faith unites us with all the believers gone before. God’s presence distinguishes us from “them”…who have not been called by His name.

I have been baffled, as I have learned more of the depth of depravity of certain political leaders. The more I see, the more baffled I become. Yes, I am a sinner. Left to myself I could do as bad or worse…but for grace.

God’s call, God’s presence makes the difference. They have not been ruled by God. Nor do they seem to have any inclination to be. I grieve and pray for them.

A/P~ Remind me, Lord, that I bear Your name. I represent You here and I have a call to fulfill. Don’t remember my sin against me. As for me, remind me of Who You are. To remember, I must first know. Teach me. Remind me. Send Your Holy Spirit to empower me to fulfill my call.                For.     YOUR.     Glory.

Just Do It | Kim Chipman

S~ His disciples remembered that it is written: “Zeal for your house will consume me.” John 2:17 (NIV)

O~ Jesus just drove out the merchants from the temple. The temple should be a place of worship and when it was not being used that way Jesus was angry.

A~ Confession: I haven’t been taking care of my body like I should. I KNOW it. I’ve put on weight. I don’t feel awesome. I’m tired, sluggish, and sorta grouchy. Mainly because I don’t like living in here right now. I have no one to blame but myself. I’m pretty annoyed with myself about the whole thing really.

WHAT IS MY PROBLEM?!

This body of mine houses the Holy  Spirit. It is my primary vehicle for life and mothering and ministry and EVERYthing! I truly believe in the mind-body connection, so as I neglect my body I know my; mind and soul are paying the consequences also. I believe all these things…but I am not DOING them.

“Now that you know these things, you will be blessed if you do them.” John 13:17

I won’t be blessed just for KNOWing or BELIEVing…I need to DO. Just like this SOAP method of coming to Your Word. The most important piece is the Application. What good is it if I don’t DO it? I’ll be a Pharisee that’s what I’ll be. Blech.

This body I have is Your Temple. I am not living with consuming zeal for Your house.

That can change TODAY. Right. NOW.

P~ Lord, please ignite a fire of zeal for You that consumes me! Help me to DO what I KNOW and BELIEVE. Today. The change in my choices begins TODAY. Right NOW. Each new choice will fan the flame of consuming zeal. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 31, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

