July 30 Isaiah 60,61,62; John 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

The Perspective that Changes Everything | Tara Wiley

S~ O Jerusalem, I have posted watchmen on your walls; they will pray day and night, continually. Take no rest, all you who pray to the Lord. Isaiah 62:6 (NLT)

O~ God is promising restoration, but there is a part for the followers of God to play: they are to watch expectantly for His arrival. They are to pray continually in preparation.

A~ When I live with this expectancy, continually in an attitude of prayer, it changes me. I become more aware of God’s current work. I look forward to His total restoration, and the perspective shift brings joy and peace even when the current circumstances are difficult. The church-ese phrase for this is ‘living with an eternal perspective.’ There’s a phrase for it because it’s essential for a fruitful, hopeful Christian life. Thinking back over the lives of believers I know and respect, and considering Christian biographies I’ve read of women and men who accomplished great things for Jesus over the centuries, this is a common thread: they didn’t focus on this world. They didn’t even focus on their own salvation, as grateful as they were. They focused on God and His promises. They kept a forward gaze on heaven and on God’s final restoration of heaven and earth, and it kept them going in the darkest nights. They found themselves partnering with God to bring His kingdom plan into place, and it motivated them – inspired them – comforted them – encouraged them – sustained them.

P~ Lord, there’s a reason You call us to this kind of urgent perspective from Genesis to Revelation: You are setting things into place. You are coming. You will restore. If this perspective is so critical to You, it must be so critical to me. Forgive me for the times I get so wrapped up in my own little world with its stresses and joys that I forget to keep Your plan ever before me. I want to continually honor You with a prayerful expectancy. Thank You for the way it changes me when I live this way. Thank You that each breath gives opportunity to live expectantly and prayerfully. Thank You for offering these strong keys to a fruitful, joyful life. I am so grateful for Your guidance!

Light wins! | Nikki Metzger

S~ The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.  John 1:5 (NLT)

O~ The light is talking about Jesus’ life.  Jesus was there in the beginning of creation and He brought life to all the creation.  Another way to read this verse, according to my footnotes is:

The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not understood it.

A~ I just need to hold on to this promise, especially when I get on my news feed and see headlines.  Evil, evil, evil, hate, evil, hate.  Jesus shines in the darkness and it will NEVER be extinguished.

That’s a good promise!  No matter the headlines, no matter the president of the US, no matter what!  Jesus’ light and truth will never be undone!  This promise just doesn’t make sense.  That’s why darkness doesn’t get it.  Jesus’ light swallows up the darkness.  That’s a truth – that’s the promise I will cling to when I feel overwhelmed with all the chaos happening around the world.

P~ Father, thank You!!!  Light wins!

My Identity | Kim Chipman

S~ Yet to all who did receive him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God— John 1:12 (NIV)

O~ 1 John 3:23 And this is his command: to believe in the name of his Son, Jesus Christ, and to love one another as he commanded us.

John 3:15 that everyone who believes may have eternal life in him.

A~ We talked about identity in Bible study today. My identity in Christ and Your identity.

YOU are creator of ALL, You ARE the Word, You are my Savior, my salvation, my Father, light…no darkness. You are the beginning and the end. You are all powerful, almighty, all good, ever present, all loving. You are able. You are love.

My identity? Your child. Your CHILD. Deeply loved, forgiven, wanted, cherished!

A few years ago (maybe 4?) a dear sister in Christ, Terri Schenzel, spoke about love at a women’s retreat I attended.  She shared this video then and I have watched it periodically since. (Sweet Terri is with You now…but her influence here ripples on!)

I’m confident that my limited human mind can only partially grasp the magnitude of You. All anyone needs to do is believe and we are Your child. When I think about my own children I feel like I get a glimpse. I love them, I want what is best for them, I try to teach and train them, I am sad when they are sad, hurt when they hurt, I’m frustrated by their choices sometimes…but no matter what I love them deeply.

I’m not a perfect parent, but You are. I can only imagine how You feel about me. I am Your child!

P~ Oh, Father! Help me to grow in understanding of my identity in You so I can experience all You have for me. I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

 

Posted on July 30, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

