July 29 Isaiah 57,58,59; Psalms 103; 2 Peter 3

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

I’m Not the Sovereign One | Michelle Myers

S~ The LORD has established his throne in heaven, and his kingdom rules over all. Psalm 103:9 (NIV)

O/A~ Understanding that God is sovereign, helps me keep a realistic, humble, and true perspective of me, other people, and situations.

P~ Not having God centered parents, resulted in me having a false sense of responsibility and blame when things went wrong.  I am so thankful that You have released me from this.  I am so thankful that You have shown me the truth and have taken much of the weight off of my shoulders.  Please help me remember and recognize the truth, when I am struggling with thinking it is my job to “rule” over everything.

An Unlikely Cure for Stress | Tara Wiley

S~ Feed the hungry, and help those in trouble. Then your light will shine out from the darkness, and the darkness around you will be as bright as noon. The Lord will guide you continually, giving you water when you are dry and restoring your strength. You will be like a well-watered garden, like an ever-flowing spring. Isaiah 58:10-11 NLT

O~ A remarkable paradox flows throughout Scripture: when you give, you receive. When you empty yourself, you are filled. When you turn outward to care for others, you yourself are cared for.

A~ Our culture is all about self-care. “Take care of yourself.” “Take it easy.” “Take a break.” “Take time for you.” I am a huge proponent of balance, and I know from living it out that it is absolutely possible to serve too much.

But I also know this: when I am consumed with my own stuff, I shrivel up inside. And while taking a break to get recharged is so important (that’s why God commanded a Sabbath rest – which, by the way, He emphasizes just a few verses after the ones above, offering that day of rest as a delight that satisfies), I know that oftentimes, when I am feeling stressed or overwhelmed, the very best thing I can do is get outside of myself to care for someone else.  Whether that’s a note, a phone call, or a meal for someone who’s hurting; a donation to or volunteering for a charity; a random act of kindness; serving within my church family; sharing my story… God honors these actions with a renewed strength that doesn’t make earthly sense. What a gift it has been to experience this. What a great reminder in this verse to keep my eyes off of myself and on the lookout for ways I can feed and help others around me.

P~ Lord, thank You for Your Word. Thank You for Your ways. Thank You for proving the truth of this verse to me in my past, and in my present. Help me to remember not to grumble when I engage in weekly serving, and to be on the lookout and make time for serving in unique ways each day. I know that as I empty myself for You, You fill me up, restoring my strength in a supernatural proportion. I’ve also seen and experienced how serving others can lift depression just as this verse hints at – “the darkness around you will be as bright as noon.” So, when I am feeling down, remind me of this truth, and give me the strength and courage to get out of myself long enough to serve others. Thank You that I’m not in that darkest place now. I never take that for granted!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 29, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love this Tara

Leave a Reply

