July 26 Isaiah 46,47,48,49; 1 Peter 5

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Leading by Example | Michelle Myers

S~ …not lording it over those entrusted to you, but being examples to the flock.  1 Peter 5:3 (NIV)

O~ We are supposed to live what we preach, so we can be an example to those who are entrusted to our care.

A~ I am becoming more and more aware of the little things that I tell my children to do or not to do, that I sometimes do or don’t do myself.  It can be something as simple as, “If the dishes in the dishwasher are already dirty, rinse off the dish you just used and put it in the dishwasher.  Don’t just leave them crusty in the sink.”  Well, I have noticed a few times, when I am tired or in a hurry, I put them in the sink.

I know the importance of modeling.  First, because I didn’t get it from the adults in my life growing up, and it was confusing for me.  Second, it is what helped me gain trust, respect, etc. from my students, when I was teaching.  They knew I wasn’t expecting them to do something I wasn’t willing to do myself.

You didn’t just talk about things, You lived them.  Help me be a better example of recognizing the ways I fall short in this area, and help me change my behavior.  I want to model for my kids, not just preach to them.

P~ Thank you God for increasing my awareness in this area in regards to my own children.  Please help me do better at leading by example.

My worries and cares | Nikki Metzger

S~ Give all your worries and cares to God, for He cares about you.  1 Peter 5:7 (NLT)

O~ Peter is pretty clear in this scripture.  Worries and cares go to the Lord.  I’m pretty sure that means if I care about something, then God wants to hear about it.

A~ We are moving and waiting for our close date.  I haven’t let my heart and thoughts be anything except cautious.  I’ve been worried our buyer is going to back out and we would be stuck in two house limbo.

And the house we are selling – the air conditioning is starting to act like it’s going to stop.  That’s an expense we don’t have.

Peter, who walked with Jesus, tells me to give all my worries and cares to the Lord.  The Lord cares for me!  He cares about all those details in my life!

P~ Father, thank You for this reminder today!   Thank You for Your Word!  I confess that I have been holding onto worry.  I want to give You my worries of the house sale falling through and the worry of the air conditioner being broken.  Thank You for taking care of my worries and cares!  I love You!!

Our Prowling Enemy | Joni Tyner

S~ Stay alert! Watch out for your great enemy, the devil.  He prowls around like a roaring lion, looking for someone to devour.  Stand firm against him, and be strong in your faith.   1 Peter 5:8  NLT

O~ Peter, the author of this book, understands the power of the enemy.  I’m guessing he is likely having a flashback to when he denied Jesus prior to the crucifixion.  I wonder if perhaps he was sleep deprived, or maybe he had been so  busy doing God’s work that he was distracted and lost sight of what was most important.

A~  As I’ve grown in my faith over the past 8 years,  God has opened my eyes to see that so much of life’s frustrations and hardships are a result of this scripture.  Remember, God can ONLY give good, perfect gifts to us, everything else is from the enemy—Satan—the devil.   Just as God builds His kingdom with acts of love and obedience from His believers, the enemy seeks out people that have stumbled, that are tired or weak to break them down.  I really think most of Satan’s work is subtle, he distracts and discourages believers who are already discouraged and it quickly becomes a snowball effect.   As an active Christ follower, I must constantly be on the defense of his tactics.  I need to acknowledge when hardship occurs, it is NOT from God, but from the one who delights in my struggles.  By standing firm in scripture and my faith, I will be prepared when he attacks.

P~ Dear Lord,  please protect my mind from the devil’s schemes.  I can get so discouraged and take a small situation and blow it up in my mind.  Please give me vision to see ALL that is from You!!  Help me quickly discern when struggles happen, that it is not the person who is my enemy but the enemy using them to upset and derail me.  Dear Lord, give me strength to stand firm in my faith.

He Will Restore Me | Kelley Deases

S~ And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm, and steadfast. 1 Peter 5:10 (NIV)

O~ We can tend to get very defeated this side of heaven by our inability to meet life’s challenges with the patience and grace and fortitude we would like to display. Well, I can only speak for myself in that regard. Despite the truths of the Bible I know so well, the promises I know God is faithful to keep, and the eternity I know awaits me after this life, I can veer off course, it seems, by the tiniest obstacles put in my path. So I long for the restoration and strength God offers here; I too often find myself in short supply!

A~ Yesterday promised to be a pretty relaxed, pretty fun day. A leisurely morning, a soccer game, family portraits, and a birthday dinner in honor of my 26-year-old nephew. But then, as early as the breakfast table, my little boy pushed every button he knows to push and I lost my cool. Later, my husband took issue with a change in plans and snarled his way through our “happy family” photo shoot. (I doubt you will be seeing these on Facebook!) As if these two incidents weren’t enough standing alone, I feel the pressure of four eyes watching us, as my older son and his fiancée watch how we model marriage and parenting.  Not well yesterday, I’m afraid. Over the long haul, my husband reminds me, we are solid and committed in our family bonds; it’s just the darn moment-by-moment stuff that can trip us up!

P~ Father, Thank You even for our frustrations and failures, so that it is obvious this is not our perfect home ….  but one day we will get there.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

 

 

Posted on July 26, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

