July 25 Isaiah 43,44,45; 1 Peter 4

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

For I am the Lord, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior…and you are mine | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But now, O Israel, the Lord who created you says: “Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.  I have called you by my name; you are mine. (<3 thank you!)

When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. (<3 thank you!)

When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! (<3 thank you!)

When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. (<3 thank you!) Isaiah 43:1-3 (NLT)

O~ These verses remind me that it is “when” and not “if”. When I go through deep trouble, when I go through rivers of difficulty, when I walk through the fire of oppression and at the same time they remind me:

–       to not be afraid

–       that I am yours

–       you will be with me when I go through great trouble

–       I will not drown in the rivers of difficulty

–       I will not be burned up in the fire of oppression or consumed by the flames

A~ My heart finds rest, comfort and safety in you. My hope is in you.

P~  Father, thank you for loving me, loving us.

A Pathway | Joni Tyner

S~ For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?

I will make a pathway through the wilderness .

I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.  Isaiah 43: 19  (NLT)

O~ Isaiah 43 starts with reminding us who we are.  We were created by God. (v. 1) He reminds us that we have a personal, intimate relationship with God.  (v.2) Then, he lets us know that he will be with us in difficulty, that the flames will not consume us. In verse 19, He gives us HOPE!!!  He will rescue us in the wilderness by creating a river in the wasteland, there will be something new.

A~ As I pondered this scripture this morning, I thought about the words “pathway” and “river” and “something new”.  They all are imagery of movement and change.  The pathway leads us somewhere.  A  river flows a certain direction.  And, “something new” is different—not continuing the same old thing.  This scripture reminds me that my  “something new” is only going to be found when I look for God’s hand at work . It reminds me that I need to look for the pathway out of the wilderness—that I need to leave certain behaviors and attitudes behind me.  I need to have a willing heart and participate in allowing God to move me to the Promiseland.

P~ Dear Lord, please infuse me with courage to embrace things that are new and different, give me eyes and discernment to know which pathways are Your Will.  I need this reminder when doubt and fear invade my thoughts.    I love the promise You give in verse 18, “it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.

Help with Hospitality | Michelle Myers

S~ Offer hospitality to one another without grumbling. 1 Peter 4:9 (NIV)

O~ According to the on-line dictionary, hospitality means, “the friendly and generous reception and entertainment of guests, visitors, or strangers”.

A~ At 10:30 last night, the lady who lives below us came knocking on our door to see if water was leaking somewhere in our apartment.  She had water dripping into hers.  We couldn’t find anything.  She then proceeded to ask if I was at home during the day, because it has been loud and there had been a lot of stomping all day.  My daughter was babysitting two toddlers, so the 3 of them playing around probably did result in excessive noise.

She wasn’t overly crabby about it.  I apologized, said I would try to make sure they kept it down, and thanked her for letting us know.  My husband, on the other hand, was short with her, and after she left made some pretty judgmental comments.  I explained to him that I am glad that she let us know, because I want to be respectful of our neighbors and stay on good terms with them.  He wasn’t budging.  He questioned why she didn’t say anything all day, but did now,  when she came to ask about a leak.  I don’t know why, but do know that sometimes it can be hard and uncomfortable for people to approach strangers, because they don’t know the reaction that they are going to get.  I am sure he did not help that, but I dropped it.

This morning, he came to me out of the blue.  He said that he was going to go down to her apartment after work, apologize for being short, and thank her for letting us know.  He said that God had worked on him, and was working on him, when I was talking to him, but he was tired and being stubborn.

He went right after work, and told her that he was sorry for being short.  He explained that he is a little cautious of someone he doesn’t know coming to the door at 10:30.  He said that the lady and her boyfriend/husband were understanding.  This made me feel better.  I want to be treated a certain way by people, and know that is probably not going to happen if I burn unnecessary bridges with them.  Plus, as a Christian, I know that I am held to a higher standard.

It also got me thinking about how I am when he sees someone in the store that he recognizes from college or an employee or a customer from the bank he works at. Frequently, he will stop me in the middle of my mission to get what I need and get out, so he can go say “hello” and introduce his family to these people I don’t either recognize and remember after 20 years or know at all.

Although I try not to show it, internally I am frustrated, annoyed, and feel like rushing through the “reunion.”  It wasn’t what I was there for.  It is interrupting my plans.  Hmmm, probably not too far off from the feelings my husband was dealing with last night.  Hmmm, probably doesn’t give off the warmest, most hospitable vibe. Apparently, my heart needs to be worked on in this area also.

P~ Thank you God for giving me the wisdom to keep my mouth shut last night, and let You do Your work.  Thank you for giving me a husband, who will eventually humble himself enough to listen to You and make amends for his not so right behavior.  Please just help us both be good examples of You, when it comes to hospitality.

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

Posted on July 25, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

