July 22 Isaiah 36,37; Psalms 76; 1 Peter 1

These are a few of our SOAP notes from today’s reading. We encourage you to read and journal on your own first, then join us in conversation about what God revealed to YOU today. Click HERE to go directly to the daily reading if you wish.

Printable reading plan: Life Journal Reading Plan

Want to walk through the Bible one book at a time? Head over to Discover One Thing Online Study!

Silence | Luisa Penaherrera

S~ But the people were silent and did not answer because Hezekiah had told them not to speak.  Isaiah 36:21 (NLT)

O~ The representative of the king of Assyria was telling the people of Judah how they should not trust that the Lord God will save them because the gods of the other lands they took over were not able to save them from being taken.  The people were silent.

A~ Is there a time for silence?  I need help with this…discernment.  I definitely need to be silent in order to hear your guidance.

P~ Father, I ask you for discernment when I should respond with words or respond with silence.

Living on a Slippery Slope | Joni Tyner

S~ So you must live as God’s obedient children. Don’t slip back into your old ways of living to satisfy your own desires. You didn’t know any better then. 1 Peter 1:14  (NLT)

O~ Peter, the author of this book–Peter, the disciple who denied Jesus 3 times, is contrasting a life before and after the transformation of Jesus.  He remembers who he used to be,  before Christ changed him.  Peter, of all the disciples, has authority to speak on what a transformed life looks like. He knows first-hand that his flesh can take over when the pressure sets in.

A~ I used to do things I’m not proud of—oh I haven’t murdered anyone or cheated on my husband, but I have a tongue that likes to yak!  I have pride deep within me that slips out when the pressure of life hits.  Because I’m a believer that desires to emulate Christ, I need to constantly keep this in check.  I have been called to be obedient to God because I AM a child of His. I want to be found faithful at the end of my life of being obedient to His Word.

P~ Dear Lord,  I need You to constantly keep me on track. My mind knows better, yet my fleshy self frequently whispers temptation into my ear.  I desire to live obediently to please You.  Thank you for the forgiveness that comes with trusting You.  I’m so thankful that I’m a changed person—yes, I’m still a work in progress, but I do desire to live for You.

Show Love | Joni Tyner

S~ … love one another deeply, from the heart. 1 Peter 1:22 b (NIV)

O~  It always only ever comes down to love. I am reminded that nothing I do really matters unless it is borne of love. As I cook and clean and do yardwork and run errands, let it be out of love for my family and a sincere desire to serve and take care of them. As I serve the poor community at Heartland Hope Mission tomorrow, let that also be an act of love and compassion for those who lack the resources with which  I have been blessed. As I prepare my home for this week’s Bible study, may it not be a chore but keeping in mind the mission God gave me to help point these women to Your Word. That is one of the best ways I know how to show love to my friends.

A~ This morning, after I dropped my son off at a drama day camp, I replayed my words and the tone I used with him since the time he woke up. I instantly became convicted that while I may have started with a “Good morning!” and a hug, I mostly barked out orders like a drill sergeant and made a huge deal over the fact he’d left his shoes at the neighbors’ the night before. If that had been my very last interaction with my son (heaven forbid!), I would have deep regrets to be sure. Where’s the grace? Where’s the love?

I have often stated to my son that he can demonstrate his love for us, his parents, by obeying us and showing us respect. But, for my part, I could do a better job showing my love for him by using a kinder tone and offering more patience, especially during our morning routine.

P~ Holy Spirit, Thank You for this conviction this morning. I don’t want to waste time beating myself up over my mothering woulda, coulda, shouldas, but rather take this moment to propel me forward in showing my love better, especially to those nearest and dearest to me.

LOVE deeply | Nikki Metzger

S~ Love each other deeply with all your heart. 1 Peter 1:22b (NLT)

O~ Love is patient and kind.  Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude.  It does not demand its own way.  It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged.  It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices when truth wins out.  Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.  ( 1 Corinthians 13: 4-7)

A/P~ Father, I want to truly love people, deeply.  By nature, I’m not patient; I am rude, irritated easily, want to quit, and walk away.  Please change my heart to loving others.  And help me to love my family deeply so they know how precious they are to me.  I love You!

Our team would love the privilege of praying for you! Please share how we can lift you in prayer at prayer@DiscoverOneThing.com

 

Posted on July 22, 2016, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

